Intervac Home Exchange Intervac Home Exchange

Welcome in Friesland, Netherlands

sitewide.rating.platinum Open for exchange: Maximum stay:
July 12, 2015 - August 16, 2015 3 weeks

Summer 2015: two or three weeks.

October 17, 2015 - October 25, 2015 9 days
December 19, 2015 - December 27, 2015 9 days

Open for exchange

LEEUWARDEN CULTURAL CAPITAL OF EUROPE 2018

Friesland?! Maybe it's not the first place you're thinking of. Probably it's the first time you've ever heard of Friesland...
Friesland is a province in the nothern part of the Netherlands. Friesland is flat and green, with little old cities like Harlingen, Dokkum and Sneek. Friesland is still quiet and blue, with dykes, the Waddensea and lakes with all different kinds of watersport. And Friesland has woods and islands with great beaches. So you can sail, swim, walk, cycle along the islands, visit old cities or survive in a very old countryside...
The history of Friesland is lively and famous. You can compare it (a little bit) with the history of Wales or Bretagne: Friesland has also it's own traditions, language, culture, sports etc. It has even a history with a nobility trait of Queen Beatrix of Orange; her forfathers were kings and queens of the state of Friesland. About this history you can find and see a lot sources in Leeuwarden, the biggest city and capital of Friesland. There are old buildings, statues and museums, but also parks, restaurants and many shops.
Gytsjerk (Friesian for Giekerk) is a little village (2500 inhabitants) between Leeuwarden and Dokkum. You can find in Gytsjerk all necessary shops and a public swimmingpool. By the way: Leeuwarden is just 7 km. away from our house. By bike 25 minutes and by car just 10 minutes to the centre of the city!
Our house is on the outskirts of Gytsjerk. From our house you have a good view over the green fields with cows, sheep and farmhouses. The neighbourhood is quiet and childfriendly. Our house has a garden with a little shed and and a sunny terrace. Also our house is very sunny with a lot of windows and terrace-doors. It has a livingroom (45 m2), a little brandnew kitchen with all modern facilities, a hall and a playroom/dinnerroom (also usable as a bedroom). On the first floor are 3 bedrooms (with 1 2pers and 3-4 1pers. beds) and a bathroom with a shower. It's a normal Dutch house of 120 m2.
We are living now for 13 years in Gytsjerk. Michiel (46) works on a secondary school in Dokkum. Elly (47) also teaches Dutch language and literature on the same secondary school in Dokkum. We have three kids: Joram (13), Dante (11) and Vita (9). They like to play with lego, nintendo and like to go to the zoo, sea or museums. The last 16years we had nice home-exchanges with intervac-members from Sweden (4 times), USA (California), England, Denmark (3 times), France, Germany (Berlin) and Belgium.
Finally there is an easy acces (by train and car) to the cities of Holland: Groningen (45 min.), Amsterdam (80) or Utrecht (100) etc. We can give you many suggestions for daytrips (islands, the Veluwe or in Friesland), attractionsparks, zoo's (Aquazoo is just 3 min. away), museums, etc. We look forward to hear from you; we hope that you're interested in a home-exchange with us!

Last news: Leeuwarden/Friesland is cultural capital of Europe 2018!!!

THE OPEN DATES FOR 2015
for weekends or long-weekends in the Benelux/Germany ask via mail
 michielklont@gmail.nl

Read more
 
  • Our Family:

    2 Adults, 3 Children teacher / journalist & teacher 14 Exchanges made
  • Exchange types:

    ✔ Long term exchange wanted ✔ Exchange of home ✔ Hospitality exchange
  • Destination wish list:

    Open for all offers Belgium Canada Germany Denmark France Great Britain Ireland Italy Norway Sweden USA Finland
  • Our Home:

    House In small town 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms Sleeping capacity: 5 Floor: 0
  • Property Details:

    ✔ Garden ✔ Suitable for disabled people ✔ No smoking ✔ Public swimming pool ✔ Seclusion privacy ✔ Pet care wanted
  • Contact member:

    You have to be logged in to view this information.
  • Spoken languages:

    English Deutsch Dutch
  • References:

    DE9038
 

These members have chosen not to show their location on a map

The user has chosen to only let members of Intervac view this text.

  • Occupations:

    teacher / journalist & teacher
  • Lifestyle:

    The user has chosen to only let members of Intervac view this text.
  • Pets:

    Fishes
  • Children:

    boy, 13 boy, 12 girl, 10