Intervac Home Exchange Intervac Home Exchange
#USVT783 Middlebury, VT, USA

House in Middlebury, USA

sitewide.rating.silver Open for exchange: Maximum stay:
June 15, 2015 - August 08, 2015 21 days

Length of stay is flexible depending on the exchange - can be a few days for a more local exchange, or 2-3 weeks for longer distance exchange.

Open for exchange

We have a lovely, homey 3 bedroom cape located in quiet residential neighborhood in Middlebury, Vermont. It is a very comfortable home with a living room including working fireplace, kitchen with dishwasher, 1.5 bathrooms, dining room, screened porch looking out onto private back yard with gardens, attached garage, and upstairs bedrooms and a bathroom. We have a gas grill on our back patio and a sauna in the basement. The house is in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance to the town center (15 minutes). Our family car (2003 Mazda Protege 5 standard shift) is available for use. HDTV with satellite; superb stereo system with extensive CD and LP collection. We are very close to downtown (grocery stores, shops, food co-op, town theater, movie house, post office, Middlebury College).
There is much to do in our town (see "Neighborhood" for more details) due to the presence of a small university in our town. Vermont is known for its superb outdoor recreation opportunities (hiking, boating, swimming, bicycling, camping, etc.), friendliness and inviting hospitality, and its close proximity to major nearby cities easily accessible by car (New York - 5 hours; Boston - 3.5 hours; Montreal 2.5 hours).
 

Read more
 
  • Our Family:

    1 Adults, 2 Children High School Guidance Counsellor 3 Exchanges made
  • Exchange types:

    ✔ Bed & Breakfast ✔ Long term exchange wanted ✔ Non-simultaneous exchange ✔ Exchange of home ✔ Hospitality exchange ✔ Youth exchange ✔ Renting possible
  • Destination wish list:

    Austria Switzerland Spain France Greece Croatia Ireland Italy Slovenia Canada
  • Our Home:

    House In small town 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms Sleeping capacity: 4 Floor: 2
  • Property Details:

    ✔ Use/Exchange of car ✔ Garden ✔ Seclusion privacy ✔ Public swimming pool
  • Contact member:

    You have to be logged in to view this information.
  • Spoken languages:

    English
 

A quaint and picturesque Vermont village, Middlebury offers a wide variety of activities for visitors: shops and restaurants, musuems and art galleries, arts performances (theater, music, dance, films) housed in a recently restored arts complex in the town's historic town hall theater; a movie house; coffee shops and bookstores; farmer's market; and more. Otter Creek, Vermont's largest river, passes through the middle of the village with a dramatic waterfall just below the town bridge. Middlebury hosts two excellent music series, The Festival in the Green in July, and the After Dark music series throughout the year.
Middlebury is also home to Middlebury College, a leading U.S. liberal arts college of 2,400 students. The College brings extensive arts, intellectual, and athletic events to the townspeople and visitors including theater, dance, and music performances; symposia and lectures; U.S. and international film screenings; and athletic contests. The College owns and maintains an 18-hole golf course, and alpine and Nordic ski areas, all open to the public.
Addison County, of which Middlebury is the county seat, offers superb outdoor recreation opportunities including hiking, bicycling, skiing, boating/kayaking/canoeing, swimming, rock and mountain climbing, fishing, and hunting. Lake Champlain is a mere 12 miles from Middlebury; Boston is 3.5 hours by car; New York City, 5 hours; and Montreal, 2.5 hours. Burlington, VT, the state's largest city, is 45 minutes to the north of Middlebury; Burlington is the home of the University of Vermont as well as three other colleges, and as such offers a wide variety of dining, cultural, shopping, and recreational opportunities.
For more information about things to do in Middlebury and Addison County, please visit www.middlebury.govoffice.com and www.addisoncounty.com.

 

Single father of two older children (son, 24 and daughter, 20). I currently work as a high school guidance counsellor at the Canadian International School in Hong Kong, but maintain my home in Middlebury, Vermont, and return from Hong Kong to spend my summers in Vermont. We are a close family that enjoys travel and learning about other cultures, music, cooking, food and wine, reading, good conversation, outdoor activities, and cultural events (attending concerts, theater performances, watching films, etc.). We have travelled extensively as a family (India, Japan, Iran, Canada) and enjoy meeting people from other cultures and sharing our lives and home with them. We have two very friendly cats in our family (who go in and out of doors). They can come with the house, or could be relocated if a pet-free environment were desired.

  • Occupations:

    High School Guidance Counsellor
  • Lifestyle:

    The user has chosen to only let members of Intervac view this text.
  • Pets:

    No pets added
  • Children:

    boy, 25 girl, 21