Zoetermeer, Netherlands


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in Zoetermeer, Netherlands

 We live in a house which is at the end of a row of houses, in a quiet street.
We love our house as it is light and bright. It has big windows.
It has a ground floor with a living room, a kitchen, a hallway with a separate toilet leading to a shed for our 4 bicycles.
On the first floor we have a bathroom, 2 bedrooms and the study with the computer.
On the second floor we have 3 bedrooms.
There are some musical instruments in the house such as a piano and an acoustic guitar.
We have a front garden and a back garden. The back garden has privacy as it is surrounded by a fence and has sun throughout most of the day as it is south facing.
We have 3 children. Our eldest son (1985) studies at the University of Leiden and lives on his own.
Our second son (1990) lives on his own too.
Our daughter (1992) is living in Uruguay as an exchange student and will return at the beginning of July 2010. Perhaps she will join us during the holidays or she will stay at one of her brothers.
Guido (1956) works as a manager in an Information Computer Technology (ICT) - company.
Ieneke (1958) is a developmental psychologist and works in a home for mentally retarded children.
We really enjoy our neighborhood (Meerzicht).  It has a few roads for the cars but in most of the streets cars are not allowed. It’s a quiet area and Zoetermeer center, which offers all the facilities of a big city, is only 10 minutes by bicycle.
We live not far from a park, 2 minutes walk away.
The shopping centre of our neighborhood is also nearby. It’s a little covered shopping centre where you can find your daily groceries.
The central train station is only an 8 minute walk from our house. From this train station you can go anywhere you wish in Zoetermeer or in the Netherlands. You can easily go to The Hague and from there you even can catch the high speed train to Brussels or Paris.
Zoetermeer is also called “leisure city “ because of the various activities available. We have an 18-hole  golf course (  , an indoor skiing and snowboarding hall ( , you can take part in wall climbing and survival activities (, you can go for whitewater rafting at a unique Olympic level sports complex , indoor surfing, body boarding and flow riding  (, indoor ice skating (
We have a lake where you can windsurf, swim, sit on the beach or go for a picnic. There are also 2 children farms, one of these is only 5 minutes by bicycle from our house (the address is Voorweg 93, Zoetermeer)  and in the summer children under the age of 12 can attend for the day and participate in all the farm activities.
From Zoetermeer you can easily go to other places in the Netherlands.
Amsterdam is about 60 km from our house. You can park the car at a public parking garage at the edge of the city and have free public transport to the historical centre.
Rotterdam, 30 km, is famous for its harbor and architecture and is the best place for clothes shopping.
The Hague, 15 km, is the government capital of The Netherlands. Close by is the famous sea side resort of Scheveningen with its fine sand beaches and many restaurants
Leiden, 12 km, a historical city famous for its university and alms houses.
Delft, 18 km, a beautiful historical city famous for the Delfts Blue pottery.
Gouda, 20 km, historical city, famous for the cheese market
Utrecht, 50 km, historical city with lots of canals, cozy because of the many students who live there.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 7 Exchanges made


  • HR-manager/psychologe
  • HR-manager/psychologe

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 3
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood


  • HR-manager/psychologe
  • HR-manager/psychologe


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.