Back
NO1454

Bergen, Norway

Top of Mount Ulriken

Top of Mount Ulriken

View from Mount Ulriken

View from Mount Ulriken

Bergen in winter

Bergen in winter

Top of Mount Ulriken View from Mount Ulriken Bergen in winter
Gold

Member since

2001


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Lovely, big house in Bergen, Norway. Gateway to fjords.

Beautiful home in Bergen, Norway. Bergen is Gateway to the Fjords. (visitbergen.com)
We have a big house with 4 bedrooms near the centre of Bergen. Lovely garden with lots of flowers. It is a quiet neighborhood close to public transport and close to city center. If you like hiking the Mount Ulriken is practically on your doorstep. Several grocery stores within easy reach. Bergen is an old historical city and Bryggen (the quays) is a World Heritage Site. Most wanted exchange periods for us is at Easter and in the summer. However shorter exchanges within Europe is also absolutely of interest.

Visit some of the most spectacular scenery in this part of Norway. The fjords are within easy reach and only a short boat or car trip away. Or take the train to the Hardangervidda which is a large mountain plateau with numerous hiking trails. These trails are connected by small huts for lodging and eating. Some are more like hotels which serves wonderful local food. Or simply stay in Bergen and enjoy what the city has to offer.

The house is from 1929 but fully renovated and with good quality appliances. A lot of space. On the Ground floor there is a spacious kitchen, a dining room and a sitting room with tv and music system. There is also a toilet on this floor. The hallway leads to the upper floor with 3 bedrooms and a study. The main bath/toilet is on this floor. There is also a small part of the upper floor with a sitting group with extra TV. In the basement there is a bedroom with a bathroom and toilet. You'll find the laundry and dryer in the basement too.

For more info on Bergen and the western part of Norway look at:

https://english.dnt.no

http://en.visitbergen.com/#_ga=1.172698979.1101558618.1477410575

For more info on northern Norway - The Vesterålen Islands look at: https://visitvesteralen.com/en

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • high school head of Dept
  • psychologist

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Hospitality wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 3

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Reykjavík, Iceland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Norsk

Occupation

  • high school head of Dept
  • psychologist

Children

  • Girl - Age: 34
  • Boy - Age: 30
  • Girl - Age: 28

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are a couple with grown up children. Mari Anne is a psychologist and Oyvind is a high school head.

Lifestyle

Both of us work full time We try to keep fit and have more time now to pursue interests on our own now that the children study and work out of town. We like mountain hiking as much as a visiting the Theatre or musical venues. Have just started kayaking which is great fun.

References

This member has completed 6 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: