Washington, DC, USA


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


House in Washington, DC, USA

Our home is located 10 blocks east of the US Capitol, behind the Supreme Court and the Library of Congress,  a short block from Lincoln Park.  It is pleasant to walk (or bicycle) to Union Station, the National Gallery of Art, the Smithsonian museums, and the monuments on the National Mall. The Eastern Market Metro station is about 5 blocks away as are restaurants and Eastern Market, a 19th-Century market house. The market offers meat, fish, cheese, produce, etc. On week-ends there is an outdoor farmer's market as well as a crafts market and a flea market.
The house is on three levels, with the recently remodeled kitchen, den and a powder room (shower) on the lowest level. The main level has a living room and a studio which can serve as a third bedroom. The third level has two bedrooms and a recently remodelled bathroom.
Most recently we did a major remodel of the kitchen, with new appliances, and added a shower in the downstairs powder room.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 15 Exchanges made


  • Engineering professor - retired
  • Theatrical costume designer - semi-retired

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 3
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • New Zealand

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Español

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Reagan National, DCA - 20 minutes by taxi

  • shopping Eastern Market (0.5 km)

Our home is in a historic neighborhood called Capitol Hill. It is convenient to all DC attractions but at the same time quiet and friendly. Many neighbors walk by our garden with their dogs on the way to Lincoln Park in the next block.

Translate this


  • Engineering professor - retired
  • Theatrical costume designer - semi-retired


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.


Our interests and activities in town include cultural events involving art, music and theater. Donna paints and sews. Tom enjoys gardening. Both belong to a local gym. Much of our time is spent in travel, both to family and internationally. We would be open to possible exchanges in any of many countries.
Because of the convenient location of our house, we sold our car a few years ago and manage to get around town by walking, biking or on public transport, using rental cars when needed.

Translate this


This member has completed 15 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: