Dunnellon, USA


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

1 story house in Dunnellon, USA

our house:with 330 sq meters of indoor space, our house was designed for spacious comfort and entertaining.  the living and sleeping areas all have large window views of the river, and there is an 83 sq meter front porch.  the dining area seats 6 comfortably and we regularly entertain 12.  there is an icemaker, small sink, wine cooler and beer/soda cooler.the kitchen was recently remodeled with granite countertops, convection, micro, and warming ovens, double drawer dishwasher, large double sinks, gas cooktop, and large refrigerator/freezer.  an island serves as prep area and there is seating for 3.two steps down from the kitchen is the family room.  this room has a large sectional sofa with two recliners and a convertible sofa.  the sofa bed has a tempurpedic mattress pad.  there is an entertainment center and gas fireplace.the second bathroom has a shower/tub combo.the living room is 145 sq meters which we have subdivided, without permanent walls, into conversation, office, conference, and library areas.  the library serves as a second bedroom by means of a convertible murphy bed/bookcase, and molo walls (  a word about computer access: we have fast access dsl and wireless access.  we have a guest pc complete with 5 function printer, fax, copier, scanner (what is that 5th function? apparently i never need it!)  the master bedroom is 28 sq meters and features a king size tempurpedic bed, fireplace, massage chair, and bay window overlooking the river.  there is a large walk in closet.the master bath is 28 sq meters with large walk in shower.  the shower unit has the option of several spray jets and a stationary or handheld shower.  there is a 5 person hot tub.  this bath has access to the outdoors via a small porch, allowing direct entry from the river.the front porch is 83.5 sq meters furnished with rocking chairs, deck chairs, and a dining table seating for 8.  it offers a lovely view of the river, and the comings and goings of many birds from our bird houses and feeders.  our yard:the house sits on 1.6 hectares/4 acres of oak, pine, cabbage palms and our gardens.  the front yard slopes about 20 meters to the seawall and dock.  the dock has seating for 6, and can be used for diving/swimming, fishing, or just watching the river flow by.  since the river is crystal clear, sighting fish and turtles can be guaranteed.  the yard is also a bird watchers delight, and occasionally river otter can be spotted.  we are gardeners, and our favorite is the "teardrop" right next to the house in the back yard.  there are several benches for relaxing in the garden.  beyond this garden are several fruit and veggie gardens and a small citrus grove.  there is a small herb garden just off the carport and near the kitchen.  the river: rainbow river is one of 4 pristine rivers in florida.  an amazing 490 million gallons (about 2 billion liters) of water per day surfaces from an underground river just 2k upriver from our house.  this provides us with crystal clear (you can see the bottom of the river through 25 meters of water) water at 22c making a gentle 8kph current year round.  our river playground features swimming, floating, scuba and snorkel diving, fishing, boating, kayaking, and relaxing.  we always have at least 2 kayaks in residence, and often up to 5.  there is the possibility of renting motorized boats in town.  there is a state park at the head spring.  one can enter by road or by river.  there may be a small fee  ($1+?) to enter the gardens and have a walk around, but kayaking in the park is free, and it is worth the paddle. once out of the park, one can swim, float or snorkel-a free ride on the current.  the land across the river from our house is a state nature conservancy from the head springs to about 8k downriver.  it is possible, using two cars, to float from our house to the bridge in dunnellon, or to kayak down and back.  the distance via river to the bridge is about 13k.the town:we are about 3k from the nearest grocery, and about another 3k further, the town begins with wal-mart.  there are 2 other groceries, an assortment of small restaurants including chinese, mexican, and italian and the ubiquitous mcdonalds.  besides wal-mart, there are 3 drug stores/chemists, quite a few gas stations and banks and several choices for hardware.  we currently have two fresh produce stands, and our growing season is nearly year round.  may june and july are prime time for fresh peaches, tomatoes, watermelon, and corn.  nearby: ocala is 50k east, and there is a shopping mall and more choices for restaurants.  ocala and marion county are known for thoroughbred horse farms, so the scenery is pleasant for a drive into town, particularly in spring or early summer when the mares have fouls.   crystal river is about 40k to the west.  in the winter, it is the place to see, or dive with the manatee.  there is a nice selection of fresh seafood restaurants there as well, though we can refer you to jack, our fresh catch provider in dunnellon if you wish the freshest  to fix your own.  there is a small mall in crystal river.  gainesville, home of the university of florida, is one hour north, and offers some fine restaurants we can recommend.  there are also museums, including a new butterfly rainforest.  google harn museum for details.  there is a bigger mall in gainesville.    tampa is about 2 hours to the south.  it is always our choice for air travel, as the airport is well designed for getting in and out, and the expressway is virtually traffic less the further north you go.  children will enjoy a trip to busch gardens or to an even bigger mall.   orlando/kissimmee is 2-3 hours drive.  in addition to disney world, there is outlet mall shopping on international drive where you can shop till you drop.  the withlacoochee trail: a 46 mile/74k asphalt paved trail used for biking, skating, walking, and running begins in citrus springs, about 20k from our house.  we have no bikes, but i'm sure we could find the bike rental place.  there is a golf course about 3k from our house, and several more within short driving distance. we do not golf, but can find out details if this interests you.          

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 31 Exchanges made


  • retired social worker
  • retired social worker

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Garage


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Use of boat

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain
  • France

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood


  • retired social worker
  • retired social worker


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 31 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: