Back
USME040

West Bath, USA

North side of house from driveway.  Blue front door is in the middle

North side of house from driveway. Blue front door is in the middle

Gold

Member since

2003


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
November 01, 2022 - September 26, 2024 2 weeks

The length of the stay may be shorter or longer. We are retired.

House on coast of Maine , USA

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful setting surrounded by beautiful trees, gorgeous views but within a few minutes drive to near-by villages, you will enjoy our home.
The house has 3 levels and sits on 4 1/2 private wooded acres (1.821 hectares) with conveniently close neighbors. It is on a hill above the water (an inlet from the Atlantic Ocean) and has beautiful views of islands, water, and mountains. On the top floor are 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom, and large balcony overlooking the living area. On the first floor there is, a kitchen and laundry, open living-dining room, small bathroom, and a TV room. On the lowest level, there is a bedroom and ensuite bathroom. The deck/ balcony surrounds most of the house and is extremely enjoyable especially for watching the sun set behind the White Mountains of New Hampshire state. The house has central oil heating, air conditioning, and ceiling fans.

Our car is a 2016 Hyundi Elantra GT which is available for use.
We have a canoe (paddles and life jackets) and 2 bicycles which you may use also.
Our neighborhood has a private community-access boat launch where it is possible to swim and launch the canoe. The best swimming is at the beautiful nearby beaches of Popham Beach State Park and Reid State Park. Many hiking trails are close by at local state parks and nature preserves, or Acadia National Park a 19020 hectare park 251km north.

In the nearby small village of Bath, there is a grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants and many local gift shops. Bath also offers a Saturday Farmers Market, Maritime Museum, and Historic Walking Tours. The larger town of Brunswick also has a few shopping centers, many gift shops, movie theater, live summer music theater, good museums, beautiful historic buildings, colleges, and restaurants. Portland, Maine is a lovely old seaport city, the largest in the state. Portland is 60km or 50 minute drive from our home. Along the coast of Maine there are lovely islands, beautiful lighthouses, and picturesque seaside towns to visit. The seafood (lobster especially) is wonderful.

Our house is about 2½ hours (230km) by bus or train from the city of Boston, and easy to get to New York City (354km) if you like. Concord Coach Lines operates a bus from Boston / Logan Airport to Brunswick twice daily. Tickets cost $13 - $40 and the journey takes 2h 20m. Alternatively, Amtrak operates a train from Woburn Amtrak Station to Brunswick Amtrak Station every 4 hours. Tickets cost $30 - $45 and the journey takes 3h 2m. Closest airport to our home is Portland, Maine (airport code: PWM)

Please email us at johnvernefrederick@gmail.com or call 512-925-4630
Here is a list of possible websites which also may highlight the area. Our area of Maine is considered "Mid-Coast" Maine.
www.mainetourism.com
https://mainesmidcoast.com/info/about/

 

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 8 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • retired Marine Director
  • retired Educator

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 3
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Total Area: 204 m2

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Use of boat

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Croatia
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • Romania
  • Czechia
  • Serbia
  • Poland
  • New Zealand
  • Tasmania, Australia

Spoken Languages

  • English

Occupation

  • retired Marine Director
  • retired Educator

Children

  • No children will be traveling with us.

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 8 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: