Amsterdam, Netherlands


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


Appartment in Amsterdam, Netherlands

The 3 room apartment has a bedroom, study and living room (with Cable Television, Home Theatre & High End Music System) with a well equipped kitchen. It is about 90 square meters. The apartment is located in a modern (build in 1998)  small scale complex with of  16 apartments which share a courtyard/garden where you can also enjoy your meal on warm evenings. The complex has it’s own garage and a courtyard for outside dining during warm summer days).
Our neighbourhood, de Pijp, formerly a working class quarter  is now one of the most  popular inner city quarters of Amsterdam. It is without doubt a melting pot of cultures and nationalities. Nowadays the area is the most cosmopolitan and vibrant district of Amsterdam.De Pijp is brimming with fantastic cafés, restaurants, coffee shops and bars. Of course, a visit to Amsterdam wouldn’t be the same without a trip to the Albert Cuypmarket, flanked by over 100 shops. If you walk down Albert Cuypstraat, Van Woustraat and Ferdinand Bolstraat, the main streets in de Pijp , you'll find many exotic and authentic Syrian, Moroccan, Surinamese restaurants and typical Amsterdam pubs are located on almost every corner. Also in abundance are the Islamic butchers, Surinamese, Spanish, Indian and Turkish delicatessens and grocery stores.The Pijp is conveniently located near the Museum Quarter (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Concert Hall, etc) and the city centre is also at walking distance (20 minutes).
Although walking or taking the bicycle is the best way to discover Amsterdam, public transport is nearby (2 minutes). All major attractions are in walking distance; the city center is about 20 minutes walking. The airport can easily be reached by train (6 minutes) and tram (also 6 minutes). Given the location the main highways are quickly accessible to make trips to other cities and villages.

Please note: since I have only one bedroom (with a double bed) and a big bench in my living room which is adaptable for sleeping purposes I can host maximum 3 people.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 30 Exchanges made


  • sociologist

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 2
  • Living Area: 40 m2
  • Total Area: 70 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 1


  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • Dominican Republic
  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Mexico
  • USA
  • Costa Rica
  • Belgium

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood


  • sociologist


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

I am an retired sociologist, borne and raised in Amsterdam (1954).

I have been involved in house exchanges since 1994 and have been in Spain, Germany, Belgium, Canada, USA, France and Italy.

I am open for all simultaneous exchanges.

Translate this


This member has completed 30 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: