Back
NL0712

Spannum, Netherlands

Gold

Member since

2005


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 06, 2024 - January 31, 2026 2 weeks

2 - 3 weeks

Share

Ancient cottage at the waterside, overlooking the meadows

We live in a nice ancient cottage (1870) at the waterside, overlooking the meadows. It is located on the edge of a small village in the north of the Netherlands, about 15 km of the regional capital Leeuwarden. Amsterdam is about one hour drive, taking you over the nice scenery of the ‘Afsluitdijk’, a 30 km long seadike. The house has 5 bedrooms. There are bicycles available. There are supermarkets in the villages nearby (3 km) and large shopping facilities in in the cities of Leeuwarden (15 km), Franeker (8km), Bolsward (10 km) or Sneek (15 km).
 
The northern region is a rural area with lots of lakes, where in the summer period a lot of sailing is going on. At a distance of 15 km there is also a nice beach at the IJssel Lake, or alternatively the big sand beaches of the North Sea are about 40 minutes drive. The region, ‘Friesland’, has numerous of small, ancient towns that are nice to visit, has its own regional language and a rich cultural history.There is a number of cultural/historical attractions in the area which we can inform you about, and also things to do with children. It is also nice to visit one of the small islands in the Waddensea. The boats to some of these islands leave from harbours in the area. The islands are nice places for a daytrip.
 

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 8 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • engineer
  • assistent

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Occupation

  • engineer
  • assistent

Children

  • No children will be traveling with us.

Pets

  • cat

References

This member has completed 8 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: