Wien, Austria

kitchen and dining room at the garden front

kitchen and dining room at the garden front

our terrace

our terrace

kitchen and dining room at the garden front our terrace

Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
April 01, 2019 - October 31, 2019 2 weeks
June 01, 2019 - June 30, 2019 2 weeks

Apartment in or holiday home near Vienna, Austria

My grandmother's house is now my holiday home. It's situated in a small village in the wine country near the Slovakian border, 55 km northeast of Vienna (direct trains to Vienna). The lake in the woods along the river is nice for swimming and the marshlands are the natural home of all kinds of wildlife (e.g. storks). We enjoy cycling there or along the marked cycling trails in the region (including the adjacent Czech and Slovakian countryside). My former exchange partners visited all kinds of places: Vienna, Bratislava (1 hour), Prague (direct trains from close-by Breclav - takes 3 hours), Salzburg(3 1/2 hrs) and the Wachau (prettiest part of the Danube valley around Dürnstein - 1 and a half hours by car).  
If you want, you can also stay in the little apartment next to mine in central Vienna. It's on the 4th floor of a house built in 1906 in a very nice historic neighbourhood within walking distance from the major sights.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • teacher/journalist
  • teacher/journalist

Our Home

  • House Type: Holiday home
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange


  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Bicycles: 5


  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Vienna - 50km


  • teacher/journalist
  • teacher/journalist


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.