Birkerød, Denmark

Kitchen and living room 1

Kitchen and living room 1

Kitchen and living room 1

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

We are interested in exchanging 2-3 weeks exchange in July-August 2018. Spacious cozy house in Birkerød - charming village in green area, close to the ocean and less that half an hour from Copenhagen.

We are family of 4 - one adult and 3 children. Last summer we have been intervagging in France, and the previous years we were in Germany, Spain (Barcelona, Sevilla), La Palma, Ireland, Switzerland and Holland. We have enjoyed Intervac exchange very much, and are open to all locations.

Our house is a one level type surrounded by a garden, in a quiet neighbourhood with friendly and helpful neighbours at the end of a dead-end road where children can play - both in the garden (we have a very big trampolin) and at the basketball basket at the street. The house has 4 bedrooms, one of them with a double bed, two of them with queen size beds and the last one with a single bed.

A baby bed is available and so is an extra madress so it is possible to accomodate more than 6 people. For kids we have high chairs and car seats as well as a lot of Lego and brio train to play with. There is a big kitchen and dining room in one which is directly connected to a living room with a fireplace and a cross-trainer. There is a covered terasse directly connected to the kitchen and the living room where we eat all our meals in the summertime.The house is 150 m2.

We live about one km from Birkerød train station and the village centre. Birkerød is an old charming suburban town with small lakes scattered around. It has a pretty old church dating back to 12. century and an old village center with a cozy shopping street, plenty of grocery shops, a delicatessen, a cinema, a café, an ice cream cafe, 3 restaurants, and 3 pizza- and take aways places, public swimming pool with both indoor and outdoor pools and a fitness center.

We have a car which seats 6 (5 regular seats and one extra in the back). We also have 5 bikes and a bike trailer which is suitable for 2 small childern, so you can enjoy the nearby surroundings by bike. Birkerød has a large lake (Sjælsø) just 2 km north of our house with a swimming site, which is especially good for little kids as there are no waves. 2 km south of our house i very large forest (Rudeskov) with plente of hiking traks.

The train from Birkerød goes directly to Copenhagen every 10 minutes (every 20 minutes in the evening) and it takes 25 minutes to get to Copenhagen city center, and 20 minutes by car. It is also possible to bring the bikes with you in the train, and it is free of charge.

Birkerød is a great starting point for exploring both Copenhagen, Helsingør (where you will find Kronborg), Hillerød (Frederiksborg Castle) or Lyngby with it's great shopping possibilities. You can also take trips to the beach (either rungsted or Vedvæk beach 10 km east of our house or the beautiful north coast with Hornbæk, Gilleleje and Tisvildeleje about 40 km north.

From Birkerød it's only a 25 minute drive to Helsingør where you can catch the ferry to Sweden and explore the southern part of Sweden with Helsingborg and Malmø.

We have an aquarium with fish which we hope you will feed, but they can manage several days without.

Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 9 Exchanges made


  • Project leader at Technical University of Denmark

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 150 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood


  • Project leader at Technical University of Denmark


  • Boy - Age: 18
  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 20


  • Akvarie fish