Back
GB092365

Glasgow, Great Britain

Silver

Member since

2012


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
January 03, 2021 - November 30, 2021 2 weeks

House in Glasgow, Great Britain

Our home is an Edwardian terraced house built in 1903 in the attractive Jordanhill area of Glasgow. The house has a living room, dining room, kitchen, study, two bedrooms (one with a king bed, the other with a double bed), small spare room with wardrobes and a bathroom with a walk in shower. There is a small front garden and a larger garden at the rear of the house. The back garden has a table and chairs.

There are excellent transport links to the city centre (12 minutes by train) and to the rest of Scotland, including the Highlands, the Scottish Borders, Stirling, Fife, Perthshire, Ayrshire, the Trossachs, Loch Lomond and the West Coast. Edinburgh is about one hour's drive away by car and 50 minutes by train from the city centre. We are also able to offer a car exchange.

Scotland was voted one of the best countries in the world to visit in 2014 by travel guide Lonely Planet!
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/travel-tips-and-articles/lonely-planets-best-in-travel-2014-top-10-countries
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-24712473

Scotland was also named as the second top country to visit in 2017 by the Rough Guides.
https://www.roughguides.com/best-places/2017/top-10-countries/

Finally, in 2017, Scotland was voted the most beautiful country in the world by Rough Guide readers!
https://www.theguardian.com/travel/shortcuts/2017/sep/04/scotland-voted-the-worlds-most-beatiful-country

Glasgow, Scotland's biggest city, has an enormous amount to offer visitors.
The city has an impressive range of attractions, including the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, the Burrell Collection, the new Riverside Museum, Glasgow Cathedral, the magnificent City Chambers and the Gallery of Modern Art. The work of the architect and designer Charles Rennie Mackintosh, including the Glasgow School of Art, the House for an Art Lover and the Mackintosh house in the Hunterian Museum, is also a big draw for visitors. In nearby Helensburgh is Mackintosh's Hill House. Glasgow is famous for its splendid Victorian architecture. Nearly all of the city's museums and galleries are completely free of charge for visitors.
Glasgow offers good shopping and a very wide and cosmopolitan range of restaurants and pubs and bars and clubs.
The city is home for Scottish Opera and Scottish Ballet as well as orchestras such as the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. There are a number of theatres as well as a very lively and diverse musical scene catering for all tastes.
The West End of the city has many attractions as well which are listed below in the 'Neighbourhood' section.

Useful websites:
www.peoplemakeglasgow.com
www.visitscotland.com
www.edinburgh.org
www.visitscottishheartlands.com
https://www.wildaboutargyll.co.uk
https://www.visitscotland.com/destinations-maps/loch-lomond-trossachs-stirling-forth-valley/
https://www.visitscotland.com/destinations-maps/perthshire/
www.visitfife.com
https://www.visitscotland.com/destinations-maps/scottish-borders/

http://historicenvironment.scot

https://www.nts.org.uk
 
Jordanhill is a suburb of Glasgow with mainly Victorian and Edwardian houses. The nearest train station (Jordanhill) is only a couple of minutes from our house and there is a second station at Anniesland about ten minutes away. 
There is a very nice local park - Victoria Park - which has the Fossil Grove (free entry) and free putting, bowling (the British outdoor variety on grass!) and croquet from Easter until September. The park is about 10-15 minutes' walk from our house. Nearby is Scotstoun Leisure Centre which is a large public sporting facility, including a gym, a swimming pool and tennis and badminton courts. Glasgow's main rugby team, Glasgow Warriors, also play at the stadium at Scotstoun.
There are many very good restaurants, coffee shops and pubs within a short walk of our home. There are also good local shops, including banks, a couple of butchers and two supermarkets, one large and one small.There is a farmers' market in nearby Partick.
Glasgow's West End is only a short bus journey away (or about half an hour on foot). The West End has the magnificent buildings of Glasgow University, the excellent Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, the Hunterian Art Gallery (which includes the Charles Rennie Mackintosh house) and the Hunterian Museum, as well as the Botanic Gardens. The architecture of the West End is splendidly Victorian. A short distance away is also the new Riverside Museum.
The West End has very lively and vibrant social scene with a very wide selection of restaurants, coffee shops and pubs.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 5 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher - retired in August 2015
  • Academic Librarian - retired in August 2015

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 3

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Park / playground

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Canada
  • Norway
  • Austria
  • United States
  • New South Wales, Australia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch

Occupation

  • Teacher - retired in August 2015
  • Academic Librarian - retired in August 2015

Children

  • No children will be traveling with us.

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 5 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: