Viby J, Denmark

Our living room

Our living room

Our kitchen

Our kitchen

...and dining room

...and dining room

the door to the toilet/shower

the door to the toilet/shower

Our house

Our house

Our house

Our house

Our living room Our kitchen ...and dining room the door to the toilet/shower Our house Our house

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Lovely house near Aarhus, DK

Dear Intervac friends!

We live in a little village called Stautrup by the lake Brabrand Sø, close to the city of Aarhus - European Capital of Culture in 2017 (see this article from New York Times: )

Amanda (our daughter) has a nice small apartment in Copenhagen, which we recommend during your visit. Location: Vesterbro close to the central station. You can find it here:

Our house is very nice with lots of open space both inside and outside. We have some lovely surroundings.
Groundfloor: toilet/shower, a modern equiped kitchen/dining room with dishwasher and everything you need. Seven steps down to a nice living room with a wood-burning stove, television/dvd/PlayStation/Wii, stereo and even an acoustic piano and guitar. From this room you can walk outside either to one or the other side of the house, depending on where you want to enjoy your coffee... 

In the basement we have toilet/shower; one bedroom with a double bed (Amanda´s room) and one room (Sebastian´s) with a single bed. In our home we have wireless internet-access. 

There is a private parking ground next to our house, and a bicycle shed with our bicycles free to use. 

We live in a small community of 14 houses, 25 adults and 7 children. Each individual family has their own private house, their own private economy, and their own independent political and religious opinion. One of the differences is that we have dinner with our neighbours four days a week (except during holidays), which leads to a warm and close relationship to our neighbours. This way of living is quite unique for Denmark, and especially in the area of Aarhus there are several of these kinds of communities.

In Aarhus you will find a lot of attractions such as Den Gamle By (The Old Town)  - a step into life in the time of H.C. Andersen; or you can experience the world of the Vikings at Moesgaard Museum: - or modern art at the ARoS Art Gallery or take a trip to Legoland just 90 km drive from our home. 

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 11 Exchanges made


  • Musician / Teacher
  • Teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Paris, TX, USA

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Billund - 89 km

  • shopping Rema 1000 (1.0 km)
  • forest Storskov (1.5 km)
  • lake Brabrand Lake (1.9 km)
  • river Aarhus River (5.6 km)
  • golfing Aadal Golf Club (6.9 km)
  • beach Ballehage Beach (10.9 km)
  • sea Aarhus Bay (10.5 km)
  • boating Marselisborg Harbor (9.1 km)

Årslev Engsø and Brabrand Sø is just 1 kilomter from our home at the Brabrand Lake. The Varna Palace is near to Moesgård Museum down to the beach just a 15 minutes drive from our house.


  • Musician / Teacher
  • Teacher


  • Boy - Age: 20
  • Girl - Age: 28


  • Cat


This member has completed 11 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: