Nelson, New Zealand

Evening view from the lounge

Evening view from the lounge

Bob & Robyn in Dubrovnik,2014

Bob & Robyn in Dubrovnik,2014

Bob & Robyn's daughter, Kate

Bob & Robyn's daughter, Kate

A festival in central Nelson

A festival in central Nelson

Robyn with daughter Kate's first dive on the Great Barrier Reef.

Robyn with daughter Kate's first dive on the Great Barrier Reef.


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


House with sea view, Nelson, New Zealand

Our home is conveniently located in a quiet neighbourhood, 2kms from Nelson's CBD and 800m from a cycle-way to the city. We have a lovely sundeck with park and sea views accessed from the living area. There are 3 bedrooms (two of them, doubles) and 2 bathrooms. A spacious living area gives you lovely views to the sea and parkland. There is off-street parking from which you can access our home.

We are connected to ultra-fast broadband.

There are many things to do in Nelson, which is at the top of the South Island. The local airport has good connections to New Zealand's international and regional airports. The area has great beaches, walkways and cycle tracks. Sailing, kayaking and mountain-biking are popular. There are a large number of art and craft galleries in the vicinity. Wonderful vineyards, craft beers and fresh produce are all handy.

Weather is temperate. However, if there is a cold snap we have a gas fire and a heat pump.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made


  • Semi-retired university teacher (Bob) and dispute resolution professional (Robyn)

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 180 m2
  • Total Area: 504 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Italy
  • France
  • England, UK
  • Croatia
  • Slovenia

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: 5 kilometres away -

  • boating Haven,near Tasman Bay (2.2 km)
  • forest Childrens play ground. (0.1 km)

Quiet and safe. Our home is in a mid-hill position. We are in easy walking distance of Founders Heritage Park and the Japanese Gardens (Miyazu, Japan, is a sister-city to Nelson.).

Translate this


  • Semi-retired university teacher (Bob) and dispute resolution professional (Robyn)


  • Girl - Age: 29


  • Miniature schnauzer

About Our Family

We are an active, retired, couple in our early-70s (Robyn) and mid-70s (Bob) who enjoy travel and would like to travel more. We have one adult daughter who has recently married her fiancee and lives and works in Christchurch. We also have a 12-year old miniature schnauzer dog, 'Stella", who is very much part of our family. She will be going with us, not staying in Nelson.

Translate this


We enjoy gardening, walking, reading, e-biking, going to movies (Nelson has great film festivals!) and being involved in various community groups, such as U3A (University of the 3rd Age), SeniorNet, Probus, Genealogy.

Robyn loves the sea and is a diver. She has, in the recent past, been a volunteer with a barque, the Spirit of Adventure, which runs youth development voyages. Bob feels more comfortable on top of the water, kayaking and dinghy sailing.

We have completed non-simultaneous exchanges with a couple in Austria in 2015 and Bath, England, in 2016. We spent time in the midi-Pyrenees, France, in 2017 and Portugal in September, 2018. Following the Covid travel hiatus, we recently spent 42 days in Europe, which included cruises on the Rhone and Seine, with Viking.

We are looking to do a non-simultaneous exchange in April-May 2024.

Things to do in Nelson / Marlborough

January Jazz festival
April Heritage month
June Founders Book Fair
August International Film Festival
October Arts festival starting with a masked parade

In summer cycling, sailing, swimming, hiking and wind surfing are popular. Lazing away a Sunday afternoon on Sundays from Jan- March with jazz at the Founders Heritage Park (very close to where we live), is popular. The Great Taste Cycle trail takes you over 174 kms of a coastal and inland route. In winter the Rainbow Ski Field is just one and a half hours from Nelson. There are 2 national parks, Nelson Lakes National Park and the Abel Tasman National within an hour and a half of Nelson. These have excellent trails and huts, with kayaking and bush walks being popular in the Abel Tasman.

Translate this


This member has completed 1 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: