Bristol, Great Britain

New kitchen

New kitchen

Loft Room

Loft Room


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Large, modern light Victorian family home in a vibrant area of Bristol, looking to swap in Italy early August 2022...

Large 4 bedroom house with small garden and patio. Very large kitchen diner and separate living room. We added an architect-designed open-plan loft conversion which has its own bathroom and great views of Bristol. The house is situated in a lively neighbourhood with lots of restaurants, bars, cafes and independent shops on the doorstep and a lovely park nearby with café and facilities for small children. We are very close to Bath, just over an hour on the train from London and an hour from the Welsh mountains, 40 minutes from Cardiff.

We are in the Bishopston area of Bristol, less than a minute from the most interesting section of Gloucester Road; this has been described as the last high street in Britain with hundreds of independent shops, cafes and restaurants. Especially on Saturdays, people come here from across Bristol to shop, eat and relax. We are two minutes from St Andrews Park, a very pretty grassy park with a cafe, again a magnet for families across the city.

In Europe or US etc we can swap cars (Skoda Octavia 2016), probably not in the UK

You are welcome to use an off-grid cottage that we rent in the Black Mountains in Wales between Abergavenny and Hay on Wye. This is an extraordinary, back-to-nature 300-year-old cottage with heat provided by wood-burning stoves. You can walk in the hills (Lord Hereford's Knob and Hay Bluff are an hour away), bathe in streams and cook outside over in the firepit.

We have lovely friends and neighbours, and those that are still in Bristol in the summer can show you the area and help with any problems. We are members of the beautiful and historic Henleaze Swimming Club, a disused quarry around two miles away, and if you ask nicely our friends may be able to take you along as guests for the day. Local gym one minute away in the grounds of the cricket club.

As a family we are keen cyclists and you are welcome to use our bikes; two large mountain bike (one slick tyres, one fat) and a smaller hybrid, plus an old road bike. From our house it is possible to cycle to Bath and beyond along a former railway line.

Across Isambard Kingdom Brunel's iconic suspension bridge there are wonderful walks and bike rides in Leigh Woods and Ashton Court.

[translate this]
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made


  • Criminal lawyer
  • Teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • France
  • Scandinavia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Bristol - 25km

We are just off the trendy, buzzy Gloucester Road, a lively area of independent shops, cafes and restaurants.
St Andrews Park is a minute away, we are close to the Brightside cricket ground and the road is peaceful.


  • Criminal lawyer
  • Teacher


  • Boy - Age: 20
  • Girl - Age: 17


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are a family of four, Pete and Shauna and children Louis, 18 and Martha, 15.
Pete is a criminal lawyer (formerly a journalist on The Independent) and Shauna is a teacher in a multi-cultural primary school. Louis is off to University in September.
We both know London well having studied and lived there until a few years ago and we can offer advice on where to go and what to do if you need it.
We have a dog, but can arrange for her to be looked after away from home.


We are relaxed and interested in other people and cultures.
Both of us spent time in north America in our teens and twenties, in Boston and New York as summer camp counsellors and on university exchanges, and we are keen to take the kids to some of our old haunts.
We like swimming, tennis and walking, and at home there and hundreds of books to dip into - the fourth bedroom doubles up as a library.
If the temperature drops (it's England, it happens) you can fire up the wood-burning stove in our large, open-plan kitchen diner.


This member has completed 3 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: