Back
CA1009268

Victoria, Canada

Bronze

Member since

2015


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

A lovely family home within walking distance of the ocean

Our home is located in the quiet and picturesque neighbourhood of Oak Bay just a few minutes from downtown Victoria on the southern tip of Vancouver Island. The house sleeps 6 (3 bedrooms - 2 with queen beds and 1 with a double), and includes a large back garden with vegetable patch and apple trees, picnic table for outdoor eating, full laundry facilities, and use of our car, canoe, and bicycles (3 adult, 1 child).
There are many attractions and conveniences within walking distance including the beach, the local village, golf courses, the University of Victoria, as well as many shops and restaurants. We are situated between two parks - each only a 2 minute walk - where you can enjoy baseball, tennis, lawn bowling, lacrosse and soccer. The kids will enjoy the spray park and playground. Downtown boasts the oldest China town in Canada and the world renowned Royal British Columbia Museum. The historic Government Street in downtown Victoria and the Inner Harbour offer many memorable experiences for visitors to the city. The world famous Butchart Gardens is a 30 minute drive away, and the Gulf Islands are only a short ferry ride away. Victoria is alive with summer festivals, farmers' markets, theatre, outdoor sports and recreation, and patio pubs and restaurants. Enjoy whale watching, kayaking, canoeing, cycling, hiking, camping, and so much more.

Some useful links to places to visit during your stay in Victoria:
http://www.butchartgardens.com/
http://royalbcmuseum.bc.ca/
http://www.attractionsvictoria.com/oak-bay
http://www.victoria.ca/EN/main/departments/parks-rec-culture/culture/public-markets.html

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Research Scientist and Writer/Editor

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

References

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Renting possible

Indoor

  • Air conditioning

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Balcony

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Use of boat

Our Destination Wish List

  • France
  • Netherlands

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Occupation

  • Research Scientist and Writer/Editor

Children

  • Boy - Age: 20
  • Boy - Age: 15

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

Brian is an ecologist and Ann is a freelance writer/editor. Our sons Gabe and Eric are both in French Immersion programs in school, and are keen to use their French outside the classroom. We have always been interested in visiting Europe - particularly France and the Netherlands (Brian's family emigrated to Canada in the 50's). We want our boys to experience the history, architecture, beauty, and culture of Europe. This will, we hope, be the first of many Intervac adventures!

References

This member has completed 1 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: