Mosfellsbær, Iceland


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
November 17, 2022 - November 17, 2022 3 weeks

Open to offers for "long weekend" trips during winter. Open to offers for a week ski vacation in february 2023. Open to offers in easter 2023. Open to offers for 2-4 weeks in summer 2023.

3 bedroom family house with a nice deck. In a quiet street in a friendly suburban town

Our house is a two storey attached house. On the lower floor there is a bright and open space with a living room and dining room. There is also a spacious and a well equipped kitchen, a bathroom with a shower and bathtub, a laundry room with washer and dryer and a master bedroom.
On the upper floor there is are two kids rooms each with a bed that can be changed into double beds. There is also an open space with a tv and a big cozy couch.
In front of the house there is a nice private porch that catches the sun all day long with a BBQ and outdoor dining table.

Our home is situated in a great place in Mosfellsbær (15 min by car to downtown Reykjavik). Within walking distance we have a great outdoor and indoor swimming pool with slides, hotubs, sauna and a gym. There is also a grocery store, a few restaurants and many other attractions. The town centre is a 5 minute walk. The bus stop is 2 minute walk and the bus goes straight to Reykjavík city centre and to one of the shopping malls. Mosfellsbær has fantastic hiking trails that are suitable for the whole family.
We have two cars. A 2004 model Land cruiser that is nice for traveling outside of the city area and an 2015 model Hyundai i10 witch is great for city hopping.
There are many things to see and experience in Mosfellsbær, in Reykjavík and in Iceland. We would be happy to help you organize your stay here and help you truly experience Iceland.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made


  • Photographer and Sales & marketing
  • Project manager, finance department

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Total Area: 205 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Greece
  • Poland
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • France
  • Spain
  • Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
  • Hungary
  • Croatia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Islenska

Our Neighbourhood


  • Photographer and Sales & marketing
  • Project manager, finance department


  • Boy - Age: 10
  • Girl - Age: 7


  • 2 Guinea pigs. We can leave them with family.

About Our Family

We are a family of six, mom Anna María is a finance department project manager and dad, Gunnar is in sales and marketing for a design furniture company. We have two young kids, 7 year old girl and an 10 year old boy that travel with us. We also have two older kids, 23 and 20 that live on their own and don´t travel with us these days. They are all very well behaved, easy going and respectful. My (Anna María) mom often travels with us but she is a retired teacher.
We are very normal people, quite calm and easy going. We are neat and will respect your home and expect you to respect ours.
We are all non smokers.
We do have two adult bikes and two kids bikes.

We have exchanged homes several times before, the first exchange was in 2001. All of our exhanges have been really successful and enjoyable. We think this is the only way to travel :)