Fredericia, Denmark

The house from the front

The house from the front

The house from the front

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Sadly not taking any offers in 2017 - Large family home in walking distance from forrest and Kolding Fjord (ocean)

We live in a large brick house with a cozy garden in the village of Skærbæk, situated at Kolding Fjord. The house is suitable for six to eight persons.

The house has two bedrooms with double beds and two children's rooms with single beds. Additional sleeping options can be provided in the form of mattresses. The kitchen is equipped with dishwasher and microwave oven as well as a normal oven. There's seating for four to five people in the kitchen. There's additional dining space in the combined living and dining room. In the washroom there's a washing machine and a dryer - though we prefer to dry our clothes outside in a shed with a roof whenever possible.

Our wireless wi-fi covers most of the house. There's even a wii console upstairs and plenty of games. The children enjoy to play with lego and playmobil and also have other toys. If you like to read, we've also got plenty of English language books.

There's a nice and relaxed garden around the house with space to play and hang out. The garden is a bit wild, because we love it that way, and you can always hear birds singing during spring and summer. We don't use any poisons in our garden. We're in the proces of establishing a new patio outside the living room, which will be ready for summer. Here you can find table and chairs for dining outside. We've also got a coal barbecue. Two adult bikes and two bikes for children around ten years of age are available.

If you need a car, it is possible to borrow our second car, a Nissan Primera that can seat four to five people.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made


  • Engineer, specialized in green and renewable energy as well as alternative waste solutions
  • Associate Professor, Media Studies

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Garden
  • Balcony


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Italy
  • France
  • Switzerland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Dansk
  • Norsk
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Billund Airport - 53 km

  • boating Marina (1.1 km)
  • shopping Groceries (0.5 km)
  • forest Forest (1.3 km)
  • beach Sand beach and bathing bridge (1.1 km)

Skærbæk, originally a fishing hamlet, is located between the two old and charming towns of Middelfart and Kolding, close to the city of Fredericia, a fortification city build by king Frederik III. Beach and forest are within walking distance. A smaller part of the beach is with white sand and there's also a public bathing bridge. The ocean bottom here is stony and there grows seaweed, so it may not be to overtones taste. On the other hand, the sea is full of interesting creature: small fishes, mussels and sea stars because they have places to attach and hide. - Better bathing beaches are reachable with app. 30 mins drive. It is possible to walk by the side of the fjord, but some parts will require wellies. Walking at the beach close to sundown, you may be lucky to spot a porpoise or two who thrive in these waters.

Skærbæk also has a small harbour with a cafe and a restaurant. The harbour both has a section for fishing boats and a marina. There's also a grocery store in the village.

Skærbæk is very conveniently located in Denmark. There's about one hour drive to the border of Germany, one hour drive to Aarhus - the second largest city in Denmark, Fyn is 20 mins drive away, and you can reach Legoland in about 45 mins with car. We live in a region where you'll find cities with lots of history, interesting museums, forest and beaches all close by.

We'll of course be happy to provide you with suggestions of what to do, if you tell us about your interests. Here are a couple of web pages to get you started:


  • Engineer, specialized in green and renewable energy as well as alternative waste solutions
  • Associate Professor, Media Studies


  • Girl - Age: 14
  • Boy - Age: 14


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 1 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: