London, Great Britain

Our 1911 brick house, on a quiet street

Our 1911 brick house, on a quiet street

Our 1911 brick house, on a quiet street

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

A cosy family home in London

We are looking for an exchange partner for this summer, either with the UK or one of the 'air-bridge' countries, to be confirmed by the UK Government on 29 June. You'll get to experience London like a local, going to off the beaten track places where it will be easy to social distance.

Our home offers great access by car to countryside and historic gardens around London and the South East. As an expert on family days out from London I can help you plan a great holiday. Some highlights we have enjoyed since lockdown has eased include London Zoo, Wakehurst botanical gardens and Polesden Lacey National Trust site, with wooden swings under the trees and sweeping views of the Surrey Hills. We have many more trips planned in the next few weeks so I'll be able to give lots of useful, up to date advice. We know many quiet and beautiful spots in nearby Epping Forest and you can drive to a number of quiet beaches in less than 1.5 hours. I'm very happy to share my extensive knowledge with you, where to go, how to book etc. More and more is reopening every week so you'll run out of time before your run out of places to go! If you want quieter days we have a lovely park on our doorstep, its Farmers Market on a Saturday has restarted, and lots of toys, games and a garden to relax in.

Here's the standard information about our home:
Our 1911 family home is on a quiet, tree lined street - yet only a short commute into Central London. We promise you'll feel very at home here, especially if you have children.

Living room: Netflix, BBC iPlayer, digital TV box
Dining room: seats 6-10 comfortably. Toddler and high chairs available on request
Kitchen: gas stove, electric oven, washing machine, dryer, can use our kitchenware and spices
Bedrooms: 1 king sized bed; 1 double bed with ensuite; 1 kids room with single raised loft bed; 1 kids room with single bed; 1 very small spare room with fold out double bed
Bathrooms: 1 with bath and shower; 1 ensuite with shower
35 ft garden, newly upgraded, with lawn, outdoor seating and children's outdoor toys

The house is approximately 120 sq m over three floors.
We have everything for children: lots of toys from babies onwards, and practical things like travel cot, children's plates, cups and cutlery available on request.

Right at the end of our street:
* Lloyd Park - public park with playground, including swings, slides, sandpit, water fountain, outdoor gym equipment, ball courts, cafe and Museum of the Year William Morris Gallery
* Waltham Forest Feel Good Centre - public swimming pool, including toddler pool, gym, soft play, teen zone, climbing wall, extreme trampolines, classes, and urban spa

5 mins on bus to Walthamstow Central underground station (zone 3) or a pleasant 15 min walk. Quick lines to Central London (20 mins to Oxford Circus; also stops at Victoria, Kings Cross for Eurostar, Euston) and the City. We commute to London every day, it's very easy! You can get anywhere in central London easily (shops, theatres, museums, main tourist sites etc). We now have the night tube so can even stay out late on Friday or Saturday and still get home quickly and cheaply.

Some suggestions for a family break in London:

Our area is friendly, artsy, good community, multicultural, with lots of local shops, restaurants, cafes, a massive street market, cinema, parks.... Everything you might need is within walking distance.
A flavour of Walthamstow village:

* Loire valley, summer 2016
* Paris, October 2016 (another site)
* Belgium, Easter 2017
* Skane, Sweden, summer 2017
* Finland, Easter 2018
* Cardiff, May 2018
* Amsterdam, Summer 2018
* Rouen, October 2018
* Brussels, Christmas 2018
* Aarhus, Denmark, Easter 2019
* Caen, Summer 2019
* Bordeaux, October 2019
* Lapland, February 2020
And who knows where next? Open to all offers!

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 12 Exchanges made


  • Curator
  • Technical Manager

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Park / playground


  • No smoking
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Czechia
  • Croatia
  • Poland
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Spain
  • Belgium
  • Ireland
  • United Kingdom

Spoken Languages

  • English


  • Curator
  • Technical Manager


  • Girl - Age: 18
  • Girl - Age: 6
  • Boy - Age: 8


  • Cat