Naples, USA

Our Little "Cottage" On The Water

Our Little "Cottage" On The Water

Our Little "Cottage" On The Water

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Charming House By The Water In Naples, Florida

Our home is a charming little home in East Naples, FL, sitting on a canal, that leads to the Gulf of Mexico. We are located in an area called the Bayshore Arts District. Traveling through the area, you'll see some buildings with murals on them. And many are starting to add art to the area. We are in what is considered "old Naples". So most of the homes are older little homes on canals. There are a few bigger homes mixed in. We like it because it's a very laid back, quiet, charming part of Naples. We would not consider it a luxurious area, however most of the residents are either retired or middle-aged professional people. The neighborhood is a mixed cultural population. It's very safe to walk around day or night. In fact there are a few little authentic inexpensive Mexican restaurants run by Mexican families (for great tacos and delicious margaritas) within a short walk or bike ride from our home. There is also a brand new "food truck park" with a large tiki bar, within walking distance, where you can go for a delicious dinner purchased from a food truck and order your favorite glass of wine or cocktail at the full bar.

We have two bedrooms in our home. The master bedroom has a king sized bed. The guest room has a queen sized bed. The house sleeps two couples or one couple or single parent and one child. If you have more than one child, unfortunately, we only have the one queen sized bed in the guestroom. There is an ensuite bathroom in the master bedroom. An additional full bathroom is in the hallway close to the guest bedroom. There are water views from just about every room in the house. The screened lanai is a great place to enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast or dinner by candlelight. It is very quiet here. This isn't a party town. After dark, the only thing you might hear are the fish jumping in the canal behind the house.

We are located a 7 minute drive, by car, from the restaurants and shops of 5th Avenue South, the downtown area of Naples. We're only 18 minutes from The Mercado, the lively upscale shopping area where there are lively nightclubs open till late in the evening, while the rest of Naples has already gone to bed.

The beach is around 10 minutes away by car. We've never ridden our bikes that far, but it could be easily done if you don't mind riding with traffic. The beach is a great place to catch the sunset.

We have two bicycles, a kayak and a rowboat and dinghy that can be used to paddle around in the canal. We also have an old sailboat tied up to the dock behind the house, but would only be open to having someone with lots of sailing experience taking it out. There are a number of nearby places in the area to rent power boats and jet skis.

Wifi is also available in our home for no cost to you. We have a large 50" widescreen television in the living room and smaller flatscreen televisions in each bedroom. Local channels are available. We also have access to Netflix and Amazon on the living room television only, if you have a TV stick and Netflx membership.

Your small (under 25lbs) dog is welcome to visit with you, as long as you accept full responsibility for the cost and repair of any damage done by your pet and take care of it by the end of your stay, including giving the entire house a good vacuum or mop (if necessary) before leaving. Our home is tiled everywhere except in the bedrooms. Your dog will need to be well behaved. We also hope that if we're doing a home exchange within driving distance (we won't be taking our dog to any destinations that require a flight) that you'll allow us to bring our puppy to your home. We have a little crate we travel with, that she stays in when we leave home and at bedtime, and are very responsible dog owners and will take full responsibility for any damage our little one does in your home. So far she has been very good.

We have already made vacation plans for 2019 and continue to look for an exchange for that period, ONLY in Paris or Provence France, but are open to short weekend getaways, within a few hours drive, here in the US, as stated in exchange information.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Jeff is an Architect
  • An is a retired professional manager

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 1600 sq ft


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Use of boat

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Paris, France
  • New York, NY, USA
  • Seattle, WA, USA
  • New Orleans, LA, USA
  • Santorini, Greece
  • Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA
  • Nantucket, MA, USA
  • South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA
  • Kauai, Hawaii, USA
  • Nice, France
  • Key West, FL 33040, USA
  • Sarasota, FL, USA
  • Malibu, CA, USA
  • Bora Bora, French Polynesia
  • Mo'orea, French Polynesia
  • Tahiti, French Polynesia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: RSW Fort Myers, FL - 45 minutes away


  • Jeff is an Architect
  • An is a retired professional manager


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • Yorkshire Terrier

About Our Family

We are a "young" couple in our mid- 60's, very active. We're practically newlyweds, having married just 3 years ago! We are still on our honeymoon!

Jeff is an architect. He has been living here in Florida for over 20 years, starting life in the Pittsburgh PA/Cleveland OH areas. He has designed many homes and commercial buildings and thousands of renovations over the years.

An, who is recently retired, has been living here in Florida for a little over 15 years. She started her life in Levittown, PA, just outside of Philadelphia, and spent most of her life before moving to Florida in PA and NJ. She had a long career as a VP of Human Resources for a large advertising agency and then went on to fulfill her lifelong dream to have her own small French themed cafe type restaurant.

An is an accomplished gourmet cook, so you'll find the kitchen to be very well equipped with just about anything you can think of.

We are very active people and love to be out and about in the sunshine enjoying our surroundings. And when the sun goes down, we're happy to find a place to enjoy a glass of wine with or without dinner and dance.

We have a 1 1/2 year old dog named Bella who generally does not travel with us. She takes a vacation elsewhere, while we are away.


We are practically newlyweds, having only married each other back in April 2015. We love to do romantic things. My husband is one of the most romantic men I have ever met. So we spend a lot of time together when we aren't working.

We enjoy an active life. We love to cook delicious gourmet meals at home and enjoy them by candlelight on screened lanai overlooking the peaceful canal.

We also enjoy dining out here in Naples at the wonderful restaurants. You can find just about any kind of food at any price range, from fast food (McDonalds--just 5 minutes away) to fine dining within 7-20 minutes away. We tend to prefer the restaurants that have outdoor seating on the sidewalk and are adventurous when dining. We tend to end up at the same restaurants however, because they are so good. Always happy to try new places.. It's lovely to enjoy dinner and a glass or two of wine, in the evening and watch the parade of people walk by.

When dinner is over we love walking down 5th Avenue South or 3rd Street stopping occasionally to have a glass of wine and enjoy the live music and dancing.or grab and icecream cone and eat it as we walk. There are lots of interesting restaurants on those two streets in downtown Naples (which is no more than 7 minutes drive from our house). With a few exceptions most places downtown close around 10pm.

There is also a very lively shopping area called the Mercado, about a 20 minute drive from our home. There, you'll find the big department stores, lots of other stores, restaurants and clubs that are open till very late. It is very popular with younger crowds, but even us 60+ couples enjoy going there for happy hour or a late night beverage and dancing. There is a wonderful movie theater there, called The Silverspot. They have an attached cocktail loung and you can enjoy dinner and cocktails before seeing your movie. Cocktails and other snacks are also avaiilable for purchase to bring into the theater. All the seating is reserved online in advance and the seats are wonderfully comfortable armchairs. It's a little more expensive than the average movie theater, but it feels wonderful to sink into a big comfortable armchair and watch a movie.

Both the downtown area and Mercado have a bit of an upscale feel to it. Most people dress nicely for dinner in dressy sportswear. Occasionally you'll see the younger people either dressed very very casually or very upscale (young women) if they are headed to a nearby club. Jackets are not required for men, anywhere that we can think of.

On weekends, Jeff and I spend a lot of our time enjoying the sunshine here in Florida, during the day. The weather is generally wonderful and we hate to waste a lovely day hiding in the house. We love to walk on the beach, holding hands, in the sunshine, and look for seashells. You'll see our seashell collection around our house. It's also wonderful to take a walk on the beach and watch the sunset. There is an upscale restaurant on the beach, not far from us, called The Turtle Club. It is directly on the beach. It's one of our favorite places to go after work to sit and watch the sunset.

We also enjoy sailing our little sailboat or paddling our little dinghy around the canal. Jeff also enjoys fishing from the dock behind our house. He doesn't catch much but it's nice to sit on the dock and wait for the fish to bite.

There is lots to do in our part of Florida. We're both originally from the northern part of the US, where it gets cold in the wintertime. So we appreciate living our lives and keeping active, where it's warm and beautiful 99% fo the year.


This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: