Brussels, Belgium


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
February 20, 2023 - April 20, 2023 1

not available for an exchange


A quiet suburban municipality adjacent to Brussels

Our house is located in a suburban municipality adjacent to Brussels. It is our primary residence which accomodates 8 guests in 4 rooms with a double bed of which the sizes are: on the first floor 1m80x2m - 160cmx2m - 140cmx2m. In the attic 1m80x2m.

Both of our sons are studying at the University of Leuven and living in rooms there. Since we are self-employed parents, we manage to take a few days off now and then to swap houses. Our sons will rarely accompany us on such trips.

Feel free to contact us, even if there are no specific exchange periods mentioned. Who knows what will come out of it.

This is the house of an illustrator offering lots of colorful artwork. Wireless internet available on all floors. Enjoy the built-in trampoline (3,5m diameter approx) in our garden; it keeps children and adults fit:-) Our illustrator's office is a wooden cabin in the garden, non accessible during our absence. If the weather allows, you can enjoy our terrace (approx. 20m2) with with comfortable sitting area and picknick-table.

Our house is situated 2 km from the nearest Brussels underground/metro station (Roi Baudouin/Koning Boudewijn) which can be reached by bus with a bus stop at 5 min. walking from our doorstep. From the closest metro-stop, it takes approx. 20 min to reach the center of Brussels and approx. 30 min to reach Brussels 'Midi' (South) international railway station with connections to Belgian cities such as Gent, Antwerp, Bruges, Namur etc. and Thalys and Eurostar high speed train connections to Paris (1h15min), Rotterdam (1h30) Amsterdam (2h30), London, Keulen, etc.

The famous Atomium building is situated 10 min walking distance from the Koning Boudewijn underground station.

A transfer from/to the nearest airport 'Brussels Airport Zaventem' is most convenient by taxi (15 km, approx. 55€).
If you're landing or taking off at 'Brussels Airport South Charleroi' you can reach our house by catching a shuttle bus (reservation required) or train (reservation might be required) to 'Brussels 'Midi' train station and continue by taxi or Uber or underground to terminus stop 'Roi Boudouin/Koning Boudewijn (line 6). Taking a taxi from 'Brussels Midi' train station is a faster option during low traffic.

At the end of our street is a market square with shops, restaurants and a fresh food market on Sundays. The opposite end of our street gives you acces to a small park and prairies which allows a nice and quiet stroll or jogging of 4 to 12km and further acces to beautiful countryside hikes. We provide you with the necessary maps of the surrounding. We have 2 men's bikes (with lock) at your disposal if we don't take them along during the exchange.

The internationally reknown 'National Botanical Gardens of Meise' are located within 10 minutes by bike or a 20min walk:

Last but not least: we have lovely neighbours as well as friend home-exchangers in our municipality who are helpful to assist you in case of urgency.


Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made


  • illustrator

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Total Area: 250 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Youth exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • France
  • Austria
  • Switzerland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch


  • illustrator


  • Boy - Age: 21
  • Boy - Age: 19


  • our cat Osaka

About Our Family

Together with our 2 lovely boys Nick and Isaac, we are a family of 4.

We, as parents, work together from our garden office: Tom is a professional illustrator (children books, advertisement, private commissions). I take care of the commercial aspect of our small home-run business.

The 5th member of our family is Osaka, our cat who keeps us company in our garden office. She is not allowed to enter our house, although she ignores that command bluntly whenever a door is open... We have a kind neighbour who is willing to feed her a couple of times a day and lock her in our garden office at night.

Cultural as well as outdoor activities keep us busy in our spare time. We love cycling.

Thanks for reading!
Katrien - Tom - Nick - Isaac


We love both cities and nature and are cycling enthusiasts.


This member has completed 6 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: