Amsterdam, Netherlands

One of the local shops nearby

One of the local shops nearby

One of the local shops nearby

One of the local shops nearby

Our appartment building

Our appartment building

Rijks Museum at 10 minutes by bicycle

Rijks Museum at 10 minutes by bicycle

Us with Jonathan (who occasionally might come along with us)

Us with Jonathan (who occasionally might come along with us)

One of the local shops nearby One of the local shops nearby Our appartment building Rijks Museum at 10 minutes by bicycle Us with Jonathan (who occasionally might come along with us)

Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
January 11, 2020 - January 11, 2022 2 weeks

European cities reachable by train always have our attention for short swaps, around 5 - 10 days.

Centraly located and convenient appartment in Amsterdam

Wonderfully located, modest and comfortable, convenient and bright non-smoking (1-bedroom) apartment in the city of Amsterdam, in the nice and lively typical Amsterdam neighbourhood 'de Pijp'. Shops, supermarkets, restaurants, café's, daily freshmarket and park are within less than 5 minutes walking distance, many literally around the corner.

Because of our very central location, we don't have a car but you can walk most places very easily and the public transport is very good. Tram stops are very nearby, at less than a minute walking. The border of the historical old centre with its old canals is at less than 10 minutes walking from our home, and the museum district is at 10 minutes by tram or bicycle away, or about 25 on foot.

Our appartment of 55 sq. meters is on the second floor (3d floor for US). It is accesible by stairs. It consists of a spacious living (with open kitchen) of 32 sq. meters, a bedroom of 12 sq. meters and a modest bathroom. Wifi available. The living room has an extra sofa-bed that can be used to for sleeping for 2 persons.

The bedroom has a bed for 2 persons, size 160 x 200. The house is ideal for 2 persons though it can accomodate maximum 4. When you use the sofa-bed in the living room, you should take in account that the nights may some times be a bit lively, it is a city after all.

We are vegetarian and in general do not prepare meats, fish or animal products in our house. Please keep that in mind if you are interested in an exchange with us.

At the moment we are between two fases of renovation in our house. We already did the living, and the kitchen as it is now will be replaced by a smaller kitchen, later this year.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 7 Exchanges made


  • For living we work part time. Esther works as a health care policy maker, Wiek works as a teacher.

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: Second floor (US 3d floor)
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 3
  • Living Area: 55 m2
  • Total Area: 55 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher


  • Balcony


  • No smoking
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • New York, NY, USA
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • France
  • Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • London, UK
  • Italy
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Paris, France
  • United States

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch
  • Português

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Schiphol Amsterdam Airport - 17 kms, and 30 - 45 minutes by public transport

The Pijp is a lively and nice neighbourhood that is very popular and has great old school architecture. It has lots of cafes, restaurants, shops, fresh food stores and a large daily market.

From our house you can walk easily to the historical center. It takes around 10 minutes walking to be on one of Amsterdams famous canals. Also you can take the tram. From here to the museum district is also only 10 tram-minutes away. But Amsterdam is a compact city, walking distances are not so long.

There is a nice park very nearby, the Sarphatipark, were you can sit down on the grass, and have a picnic, like many people do.

There are many fresh food stores, groceries, bakeries, and there is a large bio-supermarket very near to our home.

Actually, Amsterdam is not a metropole, but it has a relatively large center and there are a lot of things to do (which you can find on internet if you do a short search). Everything is perfectly reachable within half an hour or less. Here are some personal and local (not all of them) suggestions for places to have a coffee or glass of wine, or meet with friends, or just have a relaxed time sitting on a terace and warch people pass by. Places we like and like to walk to from our place.

The terace of movie theatre Rialto (you re not obliged to take a drink) at the Ceintuurbaan, is a relaxed place for a drink, off the main tourist spots of 'De Pijp'. Drinks are cheap and it is at 5 minutes walking from our home. Great movies too, mostly arthouse.

Ysbreker and Lotta terrace, nicely situated at river Amstel. Also only at 5 minutes walking.

A lot of coffeeplaces (not coffeshops!) in the Utrechtsestraat have gardens (it will not show from the street because it's in the back). Around 10 minutes walking.

De Hoftuin, behind the Hermitage museum, the farthest terrace in the garden, it's run by volunteers, selfmade pastry, laid back sphere. We like it a lot. Around very nice 20 to 25 minutes walk along the Amstel river from our home.

Renzo italian take away with small and rambling terrace. Van Baerlestraat (you can take a whole bottle of whine for around 15 euros on the terrace, also with food from the shop (not obliged). Very near by the museum district, and much more fun and authentic than the museum cantinas. At 25 minutes walking.

Singel 404 in the centre at Singel 404.
especially the terrace on the canal is nice (but you've to wait to sit there) and for the exuberant sandwiches. Very good destination after a walk through the historical part of the city. Reachable by foot from our home (and along the Amsterdam canals) in around 40 minutes.

The Balie, Leidseplein (only inside) to read a paper and drink a coffee with locals and tourists. The terrace is not very special. inside is a grand cafe, especially nice to have your early sunday morning coffe or tea. 25 minutes walking.

Puccini coffeeshop, very small to drink a coffee or tea in the centre centre. Next to the bonbon shop with the same name (allthough for bonbons I would recommend Van Soest in the Utrechtsestraat). Half an hour walk.

The terace of Grand café Plantage, large and spacious, near Artis, the Amsterdam Zoo. Lots of locals with children because of the zoo. It has a laid back atmosphere, plus shadow. Also the inside of the grand café we like. Terace is always crowded though. Half an hour walk.

Kriterion café (movie theatre and café run and owned by students, cheap drinks), comfy and crowded. Laid back during the day, lively during the night. One of our favorites. Only Inside, no terace. 25 minutes walking at most.

The Movies cafe, original art deco interior, part of the cinema, but the cafe is to visit seperate. It has an old glow (a touch of art deco) over it, we like it when it rains. Probably Amsterdam's oldest cinema.

The whole area between Noordermarkt and Haarlemmerstraat has nice cafés with terraces, in the weekend (too) crowded, mix of locals and tourists. Part of the Jordaan, famous for its canals and narrow streets with lots of smal shops. Characteristical architecture.


  • For living we work part time. Esther works as a health care policy maker, Wiek works as a teacher.


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are Esther and Wiek. We are proper, quit, easygoing and considerate people. Esther works part time in healthcare as a policymaker and as a visual designer, Wiek is a part time teacher and a visual designer too. We do a lot of projects together, at the moment video and sound design.

We love cooking, reading, discovering new (and old) places, culture, design and art. Traveling too, of course. For sports we like walking big cities :-)

We like cities, but a while ago we were in Corsica and discovered how great it is to hike along and in small rivers in the mountains. Great experience that was.

Usually we exchange just the two of us. Jonathan, our 20 year old son who is in his last years of highschool, once and a while comes along.


Our lifestyle is quite modest, as we ourselves are. For example we like walking, and hiking. Here in Amsterdam it is always very lively. But one of the nice times to walk is at six in the morning, when the city is still asleep. It is special to walk the empty city in the morning coolness and smell the fresh scent of the Amstel river


This member has completed 7 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: