Rottne, Sweden


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 06, 2020 - August 09, 2020 1 weeks

A spacious and modern family house next to a lake in the calm Swedish countryside of Småland with connections to the world.

We live in a family house in a very small village next to a lake in the Swedish countryside of Småland. We have very different seasons. The summer is quite warm and around midsummer in never gets really dark. Around christmas we have Daylight for about 6 hours and in January and february there is usually snow and below zero.

The house was built in 1945 and whe have lived here since 2005. During this period the bilding has bin totaly modernized and the living area has doubled.

We have a large balcony and porge facing the garden and lake, a small playground, a tree house (ongoing project), a fire place and quite a lot of garden toys.

We have a private bridge with swim ladder and a rowing boat.

If you are used to handle a 2-stroke engine our boat can be used. You can travel about 20 km in each direction. Life vests for adults and kids. Fishing card can be purchased.

We have two bikes and a bicycle trailer for two children.

The surroundings consists of quiet lakes, fields and forrests.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Ola works as engineer within plumbing and air treatment in public buildings.
  • Karin works with wildlife in a governmental institution

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Living Area: 130 m2
  • Total Area: 3500 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Use of boat

Our Destination Wish List

  • Europe

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Dansk
  • Norsk
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: VXO Småland Airport - 25 km

From nearby VXO Smaland airport (25 km) there are flights to Amsterdam, Stockholm, Berlin, Gdansk, Split, Tuzla, Skopje and numerous destination in the Mediterranian and Canary Islands. Visit for destinations and time tables.

From the train station in Alvesta (30 km) there are direct trains to Copenhagen international airport, Stockholm, Gothenburg and Malmö.

Our closest town is Växjö, where we booth go to work everyday. It's 25 km away.

We live in the countryside of Småland. Here is very little population. The forrests are dense and there are a lots of lakes. You can take a 60 minute walk in the surroundings without meeting anyone else. There are some beaches within a few km.

Here's where many of Astrid Lindgren's caracters live.

Many tourists like to rent canoes and paddle the lakes and small rivers. Closest canoe rental is in Åby 2 km away.

Within 2 hours by car you can reach the island of Öland, Kalmar, Karlskrona, Astrid Lindgren's world or the kingdom om Chrystal

There are hiking routs around.

There are lots of berries and mushrooms in the forrest, so in the garden.

You need a car to get here. Car exchange is possible.

For more tourist information:


  • Ola works as engineer within plumbing and air treatment in public buildings.
  • Karin works with wildlife in a governmental institution


  • Boy - Age: 6
  • Boy - Age: 3


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are a family of four, mum Karin, dad Ola, older brother Oskar and smaller brother Nils.

We have a long history as scouts and we met in Tanzania in 2008. Karin moved from Stockholm to Ola's house in the countryside.

We enjoy nature, gardening, carpenting and cooking.

We have a cat named Hendrix. He loves living here and prefere to stay home. Taking care of him is a part of the deal.


This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: