Vaasa, Finland


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
December 11, 2023 - January 14, 2024 1 weeks

anything in Europe would be interesting.


A house and sauna close to the sea and city centre

Our house is a single family house (100 m2) with a terrace, a small yard and an own sauna. The sauna is a typical Finnish wooden heated sauna.
Besides the bedroom we have a guest room with a sleeping sofa so for four people you'll find beds. The kitchen and living room are open and connected by the dining room. From the living room you can go on the big terrace where you also find a grill (gas). The sauna is in an extra building where you find also a big bathroom (shower and bathtub).
Next to our house is a small forrest where you can find even some blueberries. It is only five minutes to the sea and a swimming beach. To the city centre it is about 3 km. Close by are two different small shops and it is about 2 km to a bigger shopping centre.
At the garage you'll find four bikes and even a trailer (for children).

Vaasa is a nice costal city where you hear Finnish and Swedish 'cause a lot of Swedish speaking Finns are living here. During the summertime there is a lot to do.
A must see is the Merenkurkku Archipelago (Unesco World heritage):
and the place where a meteorite hit the country:
Also nice and close by is the outdoor museum Stundars ( weven the village around is nice to walk around.
Other free time activities can be:
Tropiclandia Waterpark (
Zip Adventure park (
About 100 km away: PowerPark (
And if you like to go to Sweden, Umeå, it takes only few hours by Wasaline to get there (

As Tiina is a teacher we are bound to school holidays - the summer holidays we travel by car to be able to take our baby and dog with us - so we can not offer car exchange.

Vaasa is easy to reach by plane (there are flights from Stockholm (SAS) and Helsinki (Finnair) and from Helsinki Airport it takes about 5 hours by train. If you like driving by car there are two good options - the most comfortable is the Finnlines Ferry from Luebeck-Travemuende to Helsinki - another nice option in Summer is the ferry from Travemuende to Malmö and then driving via Stockholm up to Umeå and take the Wasaline (4 h ferry) to Vaasa - its much longer drive and needs some stays but its nice and relaxed to drive in Sweden. We did that last year and found a lot of nice places to stay (via AirBnB and there a campgrounds that rent small cottages). From Stockholm you also could take a ferry (Finnlines, Vikingline, Siljaline) to Turku/Naantali and from there drive up to Vaasa then you have the chance to visit Rauma one of the few nice old cities (wooden) here in Finland.

// Important info if you bring your pet // Finnish authorities do sometimes checks at the border
The Treatment against echinococcosis (antiworm treatment) has to be done before entering Finland by a veterinär and marked in the passport.

You can bring your pet(s) to Finland but you should be aware of the import requirements of pets. The import requirements vary depending on the country from which the animal is imported (EU and EEA countries/ non-EU country). The purpose of the import requirements concerning dogs, cats and ferrets is to safeguard human and animal health and to prevent the spread of dangerous infectious diseases, such as rabies and echinococcosis, to Finland.

General requirements concerning dogs, cats and ferrets

ID marking (tattoo or microchip)
Rabies vaccination
Testing for rabies antibodies (if importing from the non-EU area)
Treatment against echinococcosis
Pet passport (or veterinary certificate from non-EU area)
If an animal or animals are travelling by plane as freight unaccompanied by a passenger, there is a requirement for a clinical examination carried out by a veterinarian within 24 hours before dispatch

Information source and further information:

Finnish Food Safety Authority Evira (
Pet Guide to Finland (

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made


  • Teacher
  • Engineer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 100 m2
  • Total Area: 125 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Austria
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Denmark
  • Portugal
  • France
  • Italy
  • Bulgaria

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Suomeksi
  • Svenska


  • Teacher
  • Engineer


  • Boy - Age: Baby


  • Dog


This member has completed 1 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: