Oostwinkel, Belgium


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
August 15, 2021 - August 31, 2021 1 weeks

Lovely house in a quiet and very peacefull area at the border of a forest, located between Ghent and Bruges in Flanders, Belgium.

Our lovely house was just built in 2017-2018.
It consists of a light and open structure with large windows and views on the forest (front side of the house) and on the garden and the meadows (backside). We worked on a balance between a low-energy house with a small impact on the environment (water purification with plants, heat pump for heating and warm water, solar-panels, isolation, ventilation …) and a maximum of contact with “the outside” (garden, surrounding fields and woods).

The total surface of our house is 180m².
Downstairs, there is a large kitchen with a guest-table for 8 persons. The dining-room is located on the street side, with a large window on that street and with a view on the forest, 300m further. House and street (a quiet street with very little traffic) are separated by a small garden with flowers and a pool.

Furthermore downstairs, you will find a study corner with computer, a living room with a wood stove and a large window on the garden and a play-corner for the children. There’s also an entry-hall, a toilet and a shower, a technical room with washing- and drying machine and a storage room.

Upstairs, there are 4 sleeping-rooms: three rooms for children and one bedroom for the parents. The parents-room has large windows and is a true palace of light. One window gives entry to a small balcony, with sight on the setting sun (west side). One of the children’s rooms also has access to that balcony. The two other rooms are situated on the back and give view on the garden. They both have a mezzanine with a bed on a higher level, but als have a bed on lower level. You will also find a second toilet and a large bathroom with shower and bath.
Downstairs and first floor are connected by a large open space, a so-called "vide", and open stairs.

Our parcel measures about 1.200m²: 65m long, about 15m wide. There is a small garden in front of the house. Beside the house, there is an old garage (with private parking) and two small barns that we use for storing things. The garden behind the house consist of a mixture of flowers, grass, berries and young and recently planted fruit-trees. There is also a natural pool, for amphibians (but likely quiet dry in summer). Of course there is also plenty of room for the children to play, with a football-goal, trampoline, swing set and treehouse in the oak. We also have a campfire-place in the back of the garden, where we spend lots of hours and eat too many marshmellows, often together with our lovely neighbours.

The garden offers a wide view on the fields.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made


  • Sam is Archaeologist, Lien is farmer on an organic farm nearby

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Total Area: 180 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 5


  • No smoking
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • United Kingdom
  • Norway
  • Italy

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch


  • Sam is Archaeologist, Lien is farmer on an organic farm nearby


  • Boy - Age: 15
  • Girl - Age: 13
  • Girl - Age: 10


  • 2 cats, 4 chickens and 1 rooster, 2 ducks, 2 guineas pigs, fishes

About Our Family

Lovely family with 3 children - see pictures below!


As being an archaeologist (Sam) and an organic farmer (Lien), nature and culture play an important role in our lifes. We live close to nature and have large contact with our environment and the surroundings.


This member has completed 3 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: