Zingem, Belgium


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


A historical farm near nature and the city of Ghent

Our house is situated just near the village center of Zingem. Supermarkets, bakeries, pubs, train and bus station, post office and banks are all in walking distance. The closest city is Oudenaarde, but the larger city of Ghent is also only a 20 min. ride by train. Bruges, Antwerp, Brussels are all within 1 hour of traveling time.

At the same time, we live really close to a nature reserve (Scheldemeersen). There are plenty of hiking and cycling possibilities. Our bikes (no racing bikes, just 'normal' ones) are possible to use. For cyclists, the region is famous for the cycling classic "Tour of Flanders" (which sometimes passes just at our doorstep).

Our house is part of a cohousing project of 7 housing units. The units have been created within the buildings of a former farmstead, dating from 1830 - 1870. There is a shared courtyard with an old chestnut tree, and a large shared garden. All of our neighbour cohousers are families with children. See also

In the cohousing area there's a swimming pool and sauna that can be used (in agreement with the neighbours via google agenda).

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 5 Exchanges made


  • zelfstandige

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Sauna private
  • Private swimming pool
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • London, UK
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Paris, France

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: brussel -

We are situated in the village of Zingem. There are a lot of possibilities to walk or bike. Also a citytrip in Ghent is only half an our away!

Translate this


  • zelfstandige


  • Girl - Age: 13
  • Boy - Age: 16


  • chickens
  • cat
  • hamster
  • rabits

About Our Family

We are a family of 4 persons. We live in here in Zingem since 2016 where we renovated an old farm at the same time as our 6 cohousing neighbors. Pieter Jan and I (Liesbeth) have our own building company. We build low-energy, wooden skeleton houses. Our son, Luka, is born in 2008, our daughter Fien in 2011. We have a cat called Zuko.
We travel with respect for the environment, other peoples culture and possesions.
When we are not working, we like to travel. Home exchange is a nice way for to learn to know other destinations on a different way.

Translate this


This member has completed 5 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: