Monmouth, Great Britain


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
October 25, 2019 - November 03, 2019 7 days

Open to all offers (preferably Europe).

February 15, 2020 - February 23, 2020 7 days

Looking for an exchange near a ski resort but also open to ALL offers.

April 03, 2020 - April 19, 2020 7 days

Looking for 1 week (could possibly extend to 10 days). Open to all offers worldwide.

May 22, 2020 - May 31, 2020 7 days

Open to all offers.

July 22, 2020 - August 30, 2020 2 weeks

Looking for 2-3 weeks exchange. Open to all offers (worldwide).

A family home in a quiet rural setting, just a mile away from a small market town on the border between Wales and England.

Monmouth an old market town and voted one of the top 10 places to live in the UK. It has a number of successful independent shops, bars, restaurants and two theatres. Monmouthshire is a foodie's heaven with a number of Michelin star restaurants a short drive away. The vibrant and multicultural cities of Cardiff and Bristol are 45 minutes drive away and Birmingham can be reached within an hour. London is a three hour drive. The nearest beach is a 50 minute drive. There are two rivers in Monmouth, one of which you can enjoy boat rides, rowing and canoeing:

Read about Monmouth’s rich history which dates back to Roman times here:

For an active family there is plenty to do and see. The Brecon Beacons National Park (where South Wales' highest peak can be found) is an hour away but there are plenty of mountains closer for those that enjoy hiking, mountain biking or trail running. The Wye Valley (an area of outstanding beauty) is a 20 minute drive away. Walkers and cyclists will enjoy the easy access to the Offas Dyke path and the Peregrine Path (reward yourself with a drink and bite to eat the The Saracens Head in Symond’s Yat and look out for King Arthur’s cave The Forest of Dean is also within easy access (20 minute drive).

We have a family home built in the 1980s with four bedrooms; a master bedroom with ensuite, a double bedroom and two single bedrooms. There is a family bathroom and separate downstairs toilet. We have a generous sized living room and separate dining room. There is a full equipped kitchen with a separate utility room. We are in the process of modernising the house so some rooms are still 1980s... a work in progress! There is a front and back garden, the latter has a patio with a large table and chairs, parasol and chiminea and also a trampoline. The immediate neighbourhood is quiet with views of farmland and mountains (Black Mountains towards Abergavenny on outskirts of Brecon Beacons National Park).

There is a bus stop a short walk away which goes to the centre of Monmouth town (a mile away) where there are plenty of independent shops, bars and restaurants as well as a supermarket, leisure centre and theatre. There are countryside walks from the doorstep.

The nearest airports are Bristol and Cardiff (both 52.6 miles). Birmingham Airport is 78 miles.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Deputy Head Teacher
  • Educational Psychologist

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • France
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Croatia
  • Canada
  • United States
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Germany
  • Vienna, Austria

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Bristol - 52.6 miles

  • golfing Monmouth Golf Club (0.8 km)
  • shopping Supermarket (2.0 km)
  • forest Peregrine Path (1.9 km)
  • river Monmouth Rowing Club (1.9 km)
  • mountains Kymin (2.7 km)
  • boating Llandegfedd Lake (23.2 km)
  • lake Mallard's Pike Lake (14.1 km)

Monmouth is a small market town nestled between two areas of outstanding beauty; the Brecon Beacons National Park (where you can climb South Wales' highest peak - Pen Y Fan) and The Wye Valley (home to deer, wild boar, beavers and other wildlife). There is plenty to do and see for an active adventurous family, food lovers, wildlife enthusiasts, walkers, cyclists, runners, bookworms and those who enjoy culture. For book lovers, a visit to Hay on Wye is a must (33 miles, 1 hour in car).

The vibrant cities of Bristol and Cardiff are less than an hour away in the car. Birmingham is also easily accessible. There is no train station in Monmouth, however you can get a local bus to Newport train station (30 minutes drive) and embark on a direct line to London Paddington (90 minutes). Monmouth has excellent links to the M4 and M5 motorways. Although it is possible to travel by bike and public transport within the locality, it would be advisable for access to a car to experience all that the area has to offer. A car can be available as part of the exchange - either our C1 or our Vauxhall Insignia (depending on whether we are using our car to travel). We have two child seats for the car (one seat with a back and another backless booster seat).

Here are a selection of our favourite places to eat:

For the foodies there are two Michelin star restaurants in Monmouthshire:

Here are our favourite cultural places to visit: (Theatre) (Theatre) (Raglan Castle) (Hay on Wye 'town of books' and home to a book festival) (Cardiff Museum) (Tintern Abbey - 25 min drive)

Some beautiful places we like to visit: (Yat Rock, 20 minutes by car - can also be cycled along Peregrine Path). (30 mins by car, 14 miles) Good for picnics, walks and cycling. - A mountain visible from our home - you can find a good circle walk of this mountain detailed here: (a little further to travel but there are some beautiful waterfalls to visit).

Good family places to visit locally: (A wetlands nature reserve 30 mins by car) ( A farm park with animals, outside space and all weather play areas). 20 mins by car. (Park, cycling, woodland, trails, cafe) 25mins by car. (Butterfly zoo - nice warm place to go in the winter!) 10 mins by car. (Safari Park - 1 hour drive). (Bristol Zoo - 1 hour).


  • Deputy Head Teacher
  • Educational Psychologist


  • Boy - Age: 6
  • Girl - Age: 10


  • Dog
  • Tortoise
  • Fish


This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: