Back
GB1018532

Lewes, Great Britain

Ready to go

Member since

2019


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 29, 2020 - August 09, 2020 1 weeks

we are looking for a 5-7 day house swap during this date range.

Eco Refurbished House Backing onto the South Downs National Park

A perfect home from home for wedding guests or special weekend getaways. Come and enjoy this lovely light filled house which backs directly onto the South Downs. From the front door you can stroll into Lewes town centre in 10 minutes; the bus stops outside the front door. By car (or taxi or bus) you could be at the seaside, Glyndeborne or Brighton within 15-20 mins. The house is spacious, suitable for a family group or friends. A very friendly low-allergy cat comes with this booking. Sleeps 6 adults and 2 kids

The space

Architect remodelled eco home with lots of natural daylight, wood stove, original features. The house is perfect for families or couples. It is modestly sized but perfectly proportioned with oak joinery mixed with the original features.

Downstairs:
Living room with Morso wood stove (wood and kindling supplied), TV, DVD, and comfy double sofa bed.
Kitchen with dining room, under floor heating and access to deck.
Downstairs toilet

Upstairs:
Bedroom 1: King bed
Bedroom 2: Single bed with pull out second single and en-suite shower/toilet
Bedroom 3: High sleeper bunk bed with pull out futon bed below. Comfortably sleeps 2 children. The cozy room is full of Lego and toys and careful children are welcomed to have a play. The high sleeper is a very comfortable full single but adult guests may prefer to use the pull out double sofa bed in the living room.
Two showers with excellent water pressure and one bathtub for a soak after coming in from the hills.

Garden with deck, swing and trampoline. Rear gate leads straight out onto South Downs.

On a sunny day the home generates more power than it uses thanks to the solid 1930s construction and insulated timber extension. Triple glazed windows make the house air-tight so there are four heat reclaiming extractor fans gently running during the colder months which keep the indoor air very fresh.

Guest access

Full house access but not the shed, loft and marked cupboards.

Other things to note

Newly finished home so we ask guests to look after things with respect.

Friendly, quiet, low maintenance cat on site, Jojo. No cat hair (he is low drop) and he nearly always uses toilet outside so no cat smell.

We ask guests to feed the cat a scoop of dry food twice a day, check water and let him in/out if you happen to be passing. Fully house trained.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Museum
  • Civil servant

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Occupation

  • Museum
  • Civil servant

Children

  • Boy - Age: 12
  • Boy - Age: 10

Pets

  • Cat