Strängnäs, Sweden

Ready to go

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Swedish family would like to exchange house during summer 2022

A nice cityhouse in a small old town close to Stockholm and to one of Swedens biggest lakes

Strängnäs is a small old and beautiful town surrounded by the lake Mälaren, 50 minutes by train or car from the capital Stockholm. We live in a townhouse built in 1898 in the center of the town. In our garden you find a big oak and several apple trees and flowers. From our house you have 5 minutes walk to the shopping area, the beach and the harbor, were you can find nice restaurants and cafés.
We offer bikes that you can use and the surroundings are great for excursion in the beautiful country landscape, or by boat or canoes on the lake. It is close to the nature were you can go camping, biking, fishing or to pick blueberries or mushrooms. In the winter it is possible to skate on the sea, which we love to do.
The city and the area also offers a lot of cultural activities. Strängnäs is well known for its old church, built 1250, were the king Gustav Vasa was crowned in 1523 and for the windmill, built 1855. In the city Mariefred 20 minutes from Strängnäs, you can visit the grand castle Gripsholms castle.
To the train station it is about 8 minutes walk so you don't need to bring a car even if you would like to see the surroundings. In about an hour you reach the bigger cities Stockholm, Uppsala and Västerås.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 5 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made


  • System developer
  • Science journalist

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 6
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7
  • Living Area: 900 m2
  • Total Area: 300 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 7


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Sweden
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Scotland, UK
  • France

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Stockholm/Arlanda or Stockholm/Skavsta - 100 km

Some videoclips from the area:

Mariefred: (20 min by car)

Stockholm (50 min by train, 1 hour by car)



  • System developer
  • Science journalist


  • Girl - Age: 16
  • Boy - Age: 15
  • Boy - Age: 14
  • Boy - Age: 13
  • Girl - Age: 10


  • We do not have pets.