Back
ES51828

Cabañas, Spain

Trial

Member since

2023


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
June 04, 2023 - June 23, 2023 1
July 01, 2023 - July 31, 2023 1 months
Share

Great house next to the beach and natural park

The house is great, specially for the summer. It is a 2-story house with 3 bedrooms, 1 large office and a bathroom upstairs. We work from home so there is an office with plenty of light ready to accommodate remote workers. All rooms are very big. There is another full bathroom downstairs with a shower we rarely use. The kitchen and living room are in the same large space and there are all the appliances one would wish for. We love cooking!! There is also a backyard and a front yard. We have a private garage... which we use to store stuff and climb!! We have built a climbing gym there to train and have fun during the weekdays.

One of the bedrooms is used by our 2 kids, with 3 individual beds put next to each other. This accommodates family members when they stay to spend the night and the occasional bedtime story during which we fall asleep. Let's face it, it happens. They house has a lot of light and we painted the backyard in yellow to confer it a nice yellow tone. There is a solar tube on top of the stairs as well to bathe the hall upstairs with natural light. The office is simply great to work at. The house has automatic ventilation, so there is no need to open windows during winter as well. There is a bbq in the garage for you to use and tables and chairs to sit comfortably. It is not shown in the pics, but there is also a porch with garden furniture. During winter we remove the cushions so cats don't sleep on them. Downstairs... it's all about the kids currently. There are designated playing areas which they naturally overflow. But that's ok. The additional bedroom is dedicated to visitors, but it is currently the large-puzzle room.

To be honest, when people hear that we are looking forward to exchange this house during summer... they think we have gone crazy

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Architect and scientist

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Renting possible

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Other musical instruments

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 1

Facilities

  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Español

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: A Coruña - 30 km

Our street has not traffic as it is only for residents. Kids play in it, being simply a bit careful with cars looking for parking. There is a very nice park to play basketball, football and do picnics. Our home is a placed in a residential area behind a pine forest and a beautiful beach. It's one of those places people go to visit during vacation and fall in love with. The sea is calm here and the heat in summer not hot for Spain's standards (i.e. you enjoy a shadow during the day and never need AC to get a good night sleep). The weather is rainy during the winter, which makes the trees green throughout the year. There are dozens of trails to walk, bike and run around (all the pictures uploaded are from 15 min away from the house). The area sits on the Eume's river mouth and it's perfect for kayaking and sea sports. Upstream sits an amazing natural park. Up north there are some of the wildest and best beaches in Spain (personal opinion).

About connections: you can walk to many restaurants (<15 min) and groceries, no worries there. It's not like the city center, but you have decent choices. The town is 20 min south of a small and old city with plenty of restaurants (Ferrol) and 30 min north of the regional capital: A Coruña. Coruña is a lively city with great museums and amenities. You can find there pretty much anything you can wish for in a medium size city. Additionally, 45 min min south there is Santiago de Compostela, famous for the pilgrims walking across Spain there. Btw, you will see many walking every day next to our place. You need a car to properly explore the area... but it is definitely worth exploring!!

Occupation

  • Architect and scientist

Children

  • Girl - Age: 5
  • Boy - Age: 2

Pets

  • We do not have pets.