Berlin, Germany

Living room, looking onto balcony

Living room, looking onto balcony

Balcony with awning for very sunny days

Balcony with awning for very sunny days


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
September 01, 2023 - September 01, 2024 2 weeks

We are open to home exchanges, hospitality exchanges, and our hospitality in exchange for your home or second home. As for our hospitality, we can host 1-2 people in our guestroom (the bed is 180 x 200cm). A mattress could also fit on the floor for one more person as well, though that does make it a bit tighter. We have busy lives, but you are welcome to plan your stay in Berlin with our guestroom as your homebase, and when we cook, tossing up just a few more portions is easy and quickly done.

August 16, 2024 - August 22, 2024 1 weeks

We're looking for a short exchange during the Berlin summer break while our kids are at summer camp.


Beautiful apartment in Berlin

Lovely top-story, two-story Berlin apartment (approx. 100m2) right on the train ring encircling the city, nestled right up next to a beautiful park but still inside the city, about 8 minutes’ walk from a train station, where you can quickly reach any of the sights in Berlin you like. Key-operated elevator leads to an outdoor, upstairs walkway to the front door, where we have built a pergola and nurture plants (we like to sit outside and chat with our wonderful neighbors when we have time, as our apartment is part of a co-housing project with 60+ families).

Kitchen, children's room and large private bathroom with bathtub are on our bottom level and thus handicapped accessible. The children's room has a hanging loft bed (180x200cm, fitting 2 adults or up to 3 children) and a couch that folds out into a bed (fitting 2 adults) below it. In the kitchen, you can watch birds at the feeder just outside our floor-level windows. We have huge windows on 3 sides with a lovely view onto an old train embankment that is now a park, where nightingales nest and sing in the spring and raccoons occasionally bother the crows outside our windows and lumber around the property in the summer.

Up the stairs inside the apartment is our living room with grand piano and approx. 10m2 top-floor balcony, with grapevines trained on the pergola we crafted—a beautiful place for meals, enjoying the swifts tumbling through the air above in search of insects just before dusk, and sometimes even stargazing (though the city lights are generally too bright for that, but we did once see a fireball during the Perseid meteor shower). Also on the upstairs level is our guestroom (with 180x200cm bed, fitting two adults), cozy bedroom (with 160x200cm bed, fitting two adults) and bathroom with shower. The living room also has a couch bed (160x200cm, fitting two adults), and we also could provide an additional 3 mattresses for the floor.

The glass door on our bottom level can be closed to keep young children from the stairs, but the stairway is open at the top, which could be stressful for parents of little ones (plus we do have some fragile, nearly irreplaceable glass cabinetry in the kitchen).

We love nurturing local plants indoors and outdoors and are interested in homegrown food, and we ask that you water the plants (inside and out—not needed as much in the winter) – you can harvest whatever you like.

We have board games in English and German you can use.

Since our apartment is one of about 60 in a co-housing community that we all built together, we have community gardens, rabbits, hens, a big sandbox, a swing, a seesaw, a paved slope good for practicing biking or rollerblading (you can borrow ours) and more. Sometimes foxes yowl at night (but don't worry, the rabbits and hens are safe), bats can just barely be seen flitting about after dark as in every Berlin neighborhood, a pigeon lady regularly feeds the birds just in front of our houses, and some neighbors have cats that saunter around the property.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Classical musician
  • Architect/Project manager for cohousing projects

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 9
  • Living Area: 105 m2
  • Total Area: 105 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Hospitality wanted
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Piano
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Lift/Elevator

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Western Europe
  • Eastern Europe

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch


  • Classical musician
  • Architect/Project manager for cohousing projects


  • Girl - Age: 11
  • Girl - Age: 13


  • Toy poodle (hypoallergenic & well behaved)


We don't have a car, as it's really easy and pleasant (especially in the summer) to get around Berlin by bike or train. We once did car-sharing but rarely used it. You can borrow our bikes if you like - 2 adults, 2 kids aged 12 and 9.

If you really need to take your car with, there is free and safe parking in the neighborhood, and there's always parking to be found in the neighborhood. We live a few houses from the periphery of the low-emissions green line, just within the zone where you need a green sticker for your car (drivers without it park a few blocks away, where there's also plenty of parking).

We would ask that you water our plants, inside and outside. You can harvest whatever you like from them.

One of us is a musician, and we have a grand piano and a guitar you can use.

If there's anything you need (like baby equipment), there's a "Resource Store" around the corner, where you can check out just about anything with a deposit that you get back at the end if it's returned in good shape (like a library of things). Just ask and we can help.

Translate this


This member has completed 2 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: