Language
Member Login
#GB1013615

Bath, Great Britain

Open for exchange
Bronze
Calendar

Member since

2017
Exchange dates Duration
January 01, 2018 - June 30, 2018

We are open to long weekend exchanges in Europe, during school vacations, especially middle February, and Easter.

4 days
July 15, 2018 - August 19, 2018

We are interested in an exchange for two or three weeks in summer 2018, ideally to Canada, USA, or the Scandinavia region. We would like to exchange to a comfortable home, in an area where we can swim and spend family time outdoors. Please contact us with any suggestions - we will reply to everyone!

3 weeks

Family house, historic Bath, South West England, UK

Hello Intervac colleagues!

OUR TOWN - Bath is a beautiful historic town, surrounded by hills and green countryside of Somerset in South West England, but still less than 2 hours from London. It is a great base for visiting many top UK destinations. Bath is known for its ancient Roman baths complex (from which the town got its name), and 18th century architecture (which made it a UNESCO world heritage site).

Bath has great modern attractions as well, with restaurants, cafes, museums, galleries, music, theatre, cinema and shops. Outdoors it has a river, parks, public tennis courts and swimming pools, and lovely walks. Popular places to visit in Bath include the ancient Roman baths, the Royal Crescent, Pulteney Bridge, Bath Abbey, the Jane Austen Centre, the Fashion Museum, the American Museum in Britain, the Skyline Walk, and many others! For more information and photos, see:- https://visitbath.co.uk or https://www.lonelyplanet.com/england/southwest-england/bath.

OUR REGION - Apart from Bath itself, if you like day trips out by car or train, it is easy to visit some of the most popular places in the UK:

  • London (we have lots of tips for great days in the capital)
  • Bristol (the historic harbourside, science museum, zoo and aquarium)
  • Oxford (the famous University Colleges)
  • Cheltenham (beautiful Regency buildings)
  • Dartmoor National Park (wild hills or 'tors')
  • South Wales (castles, valleys, cliffs and coasts)
  • Cotswolds (classic English villages)
  • Stratford on Avon (Shakespeare's birthplace)
  • Stonehenge and Avebury (ancient stone circles)

Bath is also convenient for visiting the regions of Devon and Cornwall in far south west England especially the surfing beaches, where you can hire surf and body boarding equipment, easily and cheaply. Devon can be visited in a long day trip. Cornwall is 3 hours plus drive time. For a weekend there, you can borrow our family tent and BBQ if you want to camp out near the beach.

OUR HOUSE - We have a comfortable house with 3 bedrooms (large double bed in main bedroom, adult sized raised beds in the two other bedrooms), 2 shower/bath rooms, a utility/laundry room (with 2 washing machines and a dryer), a fully equipped modern open plan kitchen (with electric oven, gas hob and grill, microwave, dishwasher, large American style fridge and freezer), a separate dining room, a study/playroom, and a large living room (with flat screen tv and dvd, also with a sofa bed for two people). There is internet access and wifi. We have a small town garden with patio and BBQ. The house was built in 1880. It is modernized throughout but it is not a perfect "hotel style" property - it is a genuine, relaxed, family home!

Our house is close to the centre of Bath and within walking distance of all attractions. We have an automatic Toyota RAV 4 which seats 5 people. We can car swap, or recommend good value local car hire. We have on site parking. We are under 10 minutes walk to the main railway station, with direct trains into central London, and other cities.

Flying access to Bath is from Bristol airport (taxi 45 minutes) or London Heathrow airport (train or taxi 1.5 to 2 hours) or London Gatwick airport (2+ hours). There is also easy driving access from any of the English south coast ferry ports, if you drive from France.

ALSO - We would be grateful if exchange partners could feed our two cats! They are very independent and live outside, and are restricted to the utility room downstairs, so the house is free of allergens. The cats will be there during the exchange, but our friendly neighbours can also feed them sometimes, if exchange partners go on long trips outside Bath.

OUR FAMILY - We have several years of house swap experience, with Intervac and other organisations. Our teenagers are polite and well behaved. We have exchanged around Europe, and the US. We really enjoy house exchanges, and the opportunity to experience day to day life in other countries. We will care for your property, just as we hope you will look after ours.

Thanks for looking at our listing. Please contact us if you have any suggestions for an exchange. We are open to all ideas and will certainly reply to everyone!

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Accountant
  • Human Resources

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • United States

Spoken Languages

  • English

Occupation

  • Accountant
  • Human Resources

Children

  • Boy - Age: 16
  • Boy - Age: 14

Pets

  • two cats (only allowed in one part of house)
Join us or Start free trial