Back
FR010157

Poilly-Lez-Gien, France

Platinum

Member since

2006


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in POILLY-LEZ-GIEN, France

 
English: Here is a little information about us.

I am a university lecturer; I have three cats. I travel alone or with my daughters.

Our house stands in a large garden on the south bank of the River Loire. There is a grass field  between us and the river itself so we have beautiful  views, not only of the river but also of the town of Gien.  At night we have a lovely view across the Loire of the  reflections of the town's lights and the floodlit château and church. We are 150 kms (1.5 hours) due south of Paris and about 60 kms east of Orléans.

The house is large and light and has a full range of modern appliances.   There is a separate dining room.   The lounge is very large and has a wall-to-wall picture- window which looks out on to the garden.  Upstairs, 4 bedrooms  are available.  In addition to the principal bathroom, the main bedroom has an en suite bathroom.

Paris is 1 1/2 hours away by road or rail and the Loire chateaux are within a comfortable  distance.  The countryside  around is pretty and there are a number of interesting  old villages to explore.   Cycling is easy and there are a number of interesting  walks.  Bring your binoculars  as there are many birds.

All the usual sporting facilities are  available  close by, such as tennis, riding (2 mins), swimming (5 mins to the local pool), fishing, etc. and there a some lovely lakes in the vicinity  where you can both swim in safety (from sandy beaches) and sail; excursions on canal boats, including  one which offers meals on board, start from Briare which is an attractive  market town 15 minutes away.  There are weekly markets in a number of towns.  We will leave tourist literature in the house about the Loire chateaux and other attractions  such as interesting  churches, museums and towns.  Interesting towns, both 1 hour away, are Orléans and Bourges.  Wine areas within easy reach include Sancerre, Pouilly  Fumé and Chablis.  

      
Italiano:
Sono una professoressa d’ inglese all’università e viaggio da sola o con le mie figlie. Ho tre gatti.
 
La nostra casa è vicino al fiume Loire in un gran giardino. C’è soltanto un piccolo prato tra noi e il fiume, abbiamo quindi belle viste sul fiume e anche sulla cittadina e il castello di Gien. Di notte è bellissimo con le luci del castello e le riflessioni sull’acqua e il tramonto dall’altra parte.  Siamo 150 chilometri a sud di Parigi e 60 chilometri ad este di Orleans.
 
La casa è grande e ha tutte le cose necessarie nella cucina.
Ci sono quattro camere che possono essere utilizzate al primo piano e due bagni.

Per quanto riguardo lo sport, c’è una piscina a 3 chilometri, si può fare il tennis, e andare a cavallo.  Ci sono laghi nei dintorni dove si può anche nuotare o andare in barco a vela.  Si può fare il Kayak sulla Loire. Inoltre ci sono parecchi vecchi villaggi tipici.
Si può anche andare a Pouilly, Sancerre, Chablis, noti paesi di vino.

Parigi è solo un’ora e un quarto da noi col treno e gli chateaux de la Loire possono esser raggiunti facilmente. Bourges e Orleans con i loro bei duomi possono esser raggiunti in un’ora.
 

Read more

Our Family

  • 4 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 31 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Lecturer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Renting possible

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Balcony
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Great Britain
  • Italy
  • 73100 Lecce, Province of Lecce, Italy
  • Sardinia, Italy
  • Urbino, Province of Pesaro and Urbino, Italy
  • Cinque Terre, SP, Italy

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Italiano
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

Occupation

  • Lecturer

Children

  • Girl - Age: 3

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 31 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: