Braine-l'Alleud, Belgium


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 11, 2023 - July 23, 2023 2 weeks

Very quiet, bright, comfortable and big modern house not far from Brussels

LOOKING FOR EXCHANGES IN AMERICA (in 2024) AND IRELAND (in 2023)- open to non- simultaneous exchanges

We are a small family : Jennifer (50), a  language teacher for adults and a very good cook, Christophe (50), engineer, likes gardening and Moïra (19), a very quiet and lovely girl, loves reading.
We have already made exchanges with :
Sweden, France (Paris), Spain (Barcelona), Austria (Vienna), Denmark (Arhus), Canada (Toronto and Vancouver)..... all fantastic experiences. This is why we continue, we love discovering other countries and other cultures. Write  to us and you 'll get an answer for sure.

All the people who have come to our house said they enjoyed the bright house, the calm environment without vis-à-vis. (there is a private park on the right-side ! and on the left side you can't see the neighbors) and the closeness to the city.
We have a  sunny house (250 m2) with 3 individual sleeping rooms. 2  sleeping rooms have a big terrace, one to the north and one to the south. a nice south west garden (28 ares)  in a very quiet environment surrounded by trees. much fruit in the summer in the garden. There is much light in the house because we have many windows .We don't smoke, we have fish but they are outside. Please note there are 3 staircases in the house, so it might not be suitable for some people.

. We have many books in French and English and lots of information about Belgium (Jennifer was a tourist guide).
There is a supermarket (5 min. by car but you can go on foot) and a university hospital 10 min. walking distance.We are  very close to the train station  of Braine-l'alleud (15 min on foot on a "ravel" -small path only for pedestrians and bycicles ).
Our house is situated in the countryside near Brussels but you can easily reach main cities of Belgium by public transport, which are very good organised, or by car. 

Belgium is a small country but there are many things................

...............  to see:

The city next to ours is Waterloo with the famous battlefield. Then you have: Brussels (the "Grand-Place", more than 90 museums, the European  commission and so on ), the student city of Gent, Antwerp, Bruges, Namur, and so on.  Note that There are trains every 30 mins for Brussels and the trip lasts 14 min.         

.................and to do:

The seaside for children. Don't forget to taste the beer with mussels and French fries and then chocolate, these are some  of our specialities!  There are many hikingtrails in Limburg. But if you prefer cycling, there are many possibilities along the water and on former railways roads, which means it is flat, it doesn't go uphill or downhill. Nature lovers will like the Ardennes. Everything  is easily accessible because of the size of our land.      walking__cycling.php.  

Belgium is situated in the middle of Europe, so if you plan to go to Paris or Cologne or Amsterdam, it is very convenient with the Thalys train in Brussels.

Up to 24 trains a day to Paris in 1h22
Up to 10 trains a day to the Netherlands: Rotterdam, Amsterdam
Up to 5 trains a day to Germany: Cologne, Düsseldorf, Essen
Thalys Sun to the Provence in summer: Valence, Avignon, Marseille,
 Futhermore, we also have a house in Croatia which we are ready to exchange as well. You can have a look at our site on intervac BE 587

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 14 Exchanges made


  • teacher, engineer
  • teacher, engineer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Total Area: 230 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Balcony
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Costa Rica
  • Ireland
  • Australia
  • Chicago, IL, USA
  • Portland, ME, USA
  • England, UK
  • South Carolina, USA
  • North Carolina, USA

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: charleroi - 45 minutes

We live close to the hallerbos , where the bluebells florish in April and also close to the famous battlefield of Waterloo.

Translate this


  • teacher, engineer
  • teacher, engineer


  • Girl - Age: 19


  • We do not have pets.


Quiet , peaceful, open-minded, love culture and tea :)

Translate this


This member has completed 14 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: