Back
IE1084

Rathangan, County Kildare., Ireland

Glencarrig House and Gardens

Glencarrig House and Gardens

Aine and Padraig with Eldest Daughter Susie

Aine and Padraig with Eldest Daughter Susie

Lounge

Lounge

Christmas Skiing in the Pyrenees

Christmas Skiing in the Pyrenees

Glencarrig House and Gardens Aine and Padraig with Eldest Daughter Susie Lounge Christmas Skiing in the Pyrenees
Silver

Member since

2001


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Home on a horse farm in County Kildare, Ireland

Our home is a bright, airy and easy to manage modern farm house. It covers 230 sq m (2500 sq ft) and sleeps 8 in 4 large bedrooms. It sits in a large 5,000 m. of flower gardens. It is at the heart of a small horse farm. It is a superb place to relax. We enjoy spectacular sunsets on summer evenings.

The house is in the center of a small farm. It is surrounded by our own paddocks. There are roads and walkways between all the fields where horses and cattle graze. We keep a few riding horses and a small pony for grandchilren. No care required. All animals are minded by neighbors or my son who lives just 500 m away.

All wildlife is protected on our farm. Our garden is full of songbirds and we have developed a small 2 acre mixed amenity woodland with a waterfall which hosts a lot of wildlife. There are hares, foxes and rabbits to be seen from the house and many resident birds; most notably a few beautiful pheasants, a trio of magnificent buzzards and a reclusive woodpecker who we have failed to catch a glimpse of, although he resides just 100 m from our back door. The grand canal which runs along the farm's northern boundary is a rich and diverse habitat. It is one of the areas great nature reserves. Here we find herons, swans, water hens and the lucky may see the brilliant but elusive Kingfisher. On the other hand, you will readily find many beautiful wild orchids.

Our home sits just 2 km outside the small but well appointed town of Rathangan (2,500 persons). The town has all the amenities you need: ATM, small supermarkets, pubs, playground, river, churches, petrol station, post office a range of fast food - takeaways. etc. one pub serves very good meals on the weekend and many have bands play. It is a superbly convenient base for touring the whole country. The M 7 motorway nearby; less than 10 minutes away. The suburban train in nearby in Kildare town (10 minutes away). It takes you into central Dublin in 45 minutes.

We have enjoyed 5 very successful exchanges and all our visitors have thoroughly enjoyed themselves.
1. La Baule, FR: Family of 5. 5 th. Floor Apartment on Beach, Centre of Famous resort

2. Norfolk Virginia, USA: Family of 3, Large Urban Residence with a private dock and boat on river US720780
3. Marin County, San Francisco, USA: Family of 4: Executive Residence in gated Community US1147
4. Central Verona, Italy, Young Couple and baby + grandparents: Apartment in Ancient Palazzo 100m from Arena, main city Square and Opera.
5. Brugges, Belgium: Family of 5. Suburban House 300m from beach in Blankenberg.

We can supply contact details on request.

We have two Cars: A Honda Jazz (1.4 Automatic 07 +/- child seats) and a Land Cruiser Jeep (3.5TD 2 seat 05 Van only 2 seats only) both in PMO. We might be able to provide a larger family car.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 5 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Rural Development Consultant - Farmer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Living Area: 230 m2
  • Total Area: 5000 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Other musical instruments

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 2

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Europe
  • North America
  • United Kingdom
  • Scotland, UK
  • Italy
  • France

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Rural Development Consultant - Farmer

Children

  • No children will be traveling with us.

Pets

  • 1 Small Dog who lives outside in adjacent Farm Yard (no Pet Care required)
  • 1 Pony who lives in adjacent field (no care required)

About Our Family

We are a mature couple.  All four of our children are adults and have left home.  We have four grandchildren who visit often and the house is set up for them. There are Lots of Toys, Paints, Swings, outdoor play Kitchen, even a friendly kind 110 cm pony.

Our eldest son Gavin is married with two boys, aged 3 & 5. They live just 500 meters away at the other end of the farm. He will take care of any questions you may have. He also takes care of our very friendly small Jack Russell dog, who shares his time between our houses but returns home to bed down in our stable yard each night. He is a yard dog and does not enter the house. My son will take full care of him and any stock on the farm. There is no pet/animal care needed. Just enjoy.

Our eldest daughter Susie has two children, a boy and girl aged 4 and 6 and lives 30 mins away in Kilcullen.

My next daughter Emily lives locally 10 mins and manages a shop in Kildare Village. She lives 8 km away.

My youngest son, Tod, is a Musician Teacher and works with the Music Generation program.

Lifestyle

We are an active couple with a wide range of interests and activities. Our life revolves around family, work and horses.

We both enjoy horse riding, hacking, racing etc. Aine enjoys walking, tennis and swimming. Padraig loves to garden. We also like to ski when we can get to the snow.

We have four children, two of whom are married, both with a pair of children each: a girl 6 and 3 boys aged 3-5. So our home is quite child friendly with many facilities and toys. It is pretty toddler proof. Safety gates, bed sides, high chair, plastic cups, dishes etc.. Outside we have a large garden and lawn area with football nets, swings, outdoor play kitchen, trees, secret passages, hiding spots,,etc.

Sometime, if its suits we would love to have some of the family join us on holiday. If so we could provide their family car, Toyota Avensis with a pair of child seats.

We live on a stud farm. We have recently retired from breeding and racing thoroughbreds. Now, we keep sport horses for ourselves and a small pony for the grandchildren. We love hacking our hunters out around the country. We have a cross country course on the farm and Aine is the Master of the local drag hunt. They follow a scent laid across country, Riders are the only ones whose lives are ever at risk.

We love to travel. We are both active. Aine is the walker while Padraig is more fond of the garden.

We regularly gather the extended family around the table for lunch and in summer enjoy gathering everyone for a B B Q's on the patio. We are very close and often holiday together as a unit at the beach or on the slopes.