Back
DE1014586

Karlsruhe, Germany

Spacious apartment in amazing old mansion house near Heidelberg, nearby Black Forest, Vineyards & France

Spacious apartment in amazing old mansion house near Heidelberg, nearby Black Forest, Vineyards & France

Sunset in Heidelberg

Sunset in Heidelberg

Karlsruhe-Durlach-Turmberg-residential area at excursion area near old town and forest.

Karlsruhe-Durlach-Turmberg-residential area at excursion area near old town and forest.

Heidelberg castle & Unesco City of Literature

Heidelberg castle & Unesco City of Literature

Hot

Member since

2017


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 28, 2024 - August 07, 2024 10 days

Non-reciprocial exchange.

December 27, 2024 - January 04, 2025 1 weeks
April 14, 2025 - April 25, 2025 10 days

Barcelona, Portugal would be nice.

July 10, 2025 - July 17, 2025 1 weeks

Denmark, Sweden or France would be great.

July 22, 2025 - July 29, 2025 1 weeks

Denmark, Sweden or France would be great.

August 01, 2025 - August 15, 2025 2 weeks

Swap agreed with GB.

Share

Beautiful apartment close to Black Forest, Heidelberg, France.

Impressions about Karlsruhe, Durlach and Heidelberg:

https://youtu.be/l1dhn3WOQMc https://youtu.be/bBfM7icD7DQ https://youtu.be/nGePczgV92I

Because of our new international school we moved from our house in Heidelberg to a flat in Karlsruhe at the end of 2022 and love both areas very much. All pictures and descriptions are new about the apartment in Karlsruhe. We consider offers from 4-5 days.

Nice and spacious apartment (one of three in the quite building) of 1900 with stucco elements and view of mansion area in the trendy neighborhood Durlach-Turmberg in Karlsruhe near Heidelberg. 5 minutes walk to train and bus access. Our place is perfect for relaxing, exploring the area, the Black Forest and South-Germany. You can use our 3 adult-bicycles if you like.
We have direct access to Tram, Bus and train.

We have a living of ca 30 m2 with a couch and a sofa bed, a large sleeping room of 25qm with double bed and a balcony, a fully equipped eat-in kitchen for 2-4 persons with second balcony, one girls room with single bed and two mattresses and a girls room with double bed, all with nice view in the landscape, a bathroom with bath/shower and a separate toilet.

In the neighborhood, within walking distance, there are a lot of good restaurants, nice bars and a large variety of shops (baker in 5'). Durlach is famous for its state winery (in our street), the Turmberg with restaurant & sunset-views and its wine yards & the Odenwald (access from our street)

For kids you can find a nice children's playground in the large park nearby in Durlach, the mountain playground and the forest ropes course at the Turmberg (Black Forest) which has direct access from our street by stairway or mountain train (great idea for summer evenings for a glass of wine or for Sylvester, dinner in the restaurant is possible).

The public swimming pool is 5' by car, near to the grocery stores like Aldi etc.

Karlsruhe and the surrounding has natural lakes, the Castle of Durlach and the castle of Karlsruhe, as well as several art museums, theaters and a lot of bars downtown. In the Durlach Centre you will find a large shopping centre, even IKEA. You have direct access to France: Lauterbourg (Carrefour in 30'), the river Rhine and the Black Forest.

Heidelberg is one of the Unecso cities of literature. https://www.unesco.de/en. Karlsruhe is Unesco City of Media.
There are literature festivals in summer and autumn and the open air Film-Festival in Mannheim. A great experience is the open air theatre at the castle Karlsruhe and Heidelberg during the summer with view and sunset above the city and the river. Also a boats trip on the river, in summer with possibility to see the castle firework, is an experience as the zoo, the different lakes and public swimming pools, the old town. The Heidelberg theatre has a good orchestra with concerts, the theatre in Mannheim (30min) is after Frankfurt (1h) the best in Germany, there are famous operas with subtitles.

The weather in our region is mostly fantastic, warm and sunny - from April until September/October we have 20°, from June until August up to 38° - it is ideal for exploring cities and being in the nature or in one of the lakes, the Rhine or in a public pool.

You will enjoy your stay in our house! We will be respectful with yours. We are non-smoker and do not accept smoking.

Please notice our two cats which are living and sleeping in-and outside the house and need to be feeded once a day and looking for some love:-) Our dog will be in a pension (or with us if you accept).

We like this way of traveling very much and we are completely enthusiastic about it! During our last exchanges we made unforgettable experiences in Amsterdam, Netherlands, Belgium, London, GB, France and we love the opportunity to be immersed in a culture and a country.

All three of us go to the European School Karlsruhe, one of 13 multilingual European schools. Kristin ( 42 years old) teaches Philosophy, Moral and German, works as an author, lecturer and yoga teacher. Zoé (17 years old) is in her BAC and likes music, reading and art, which she also wants to study. July (16 years) likes plants, animals, baking and her friends. All three of us love to travel and get to know new places and people.

We are looking forward to you and new adventures! :-)

Best greetings, Kristin, Zoé and July


Activities in Karlsruhe:

https://www.karlsruhe-erleben.de/en/sights

https://www.tripadvisor.de/Attractions-g187289-Activities-Karlsruhe_Baden_Wurttemberg.html

  • Karlsruhe Palace and Castle
  • Botanical Gardens
  • Zoo
  • ZKM (Centrum für Kunst und Medien - UNESCO Media Art Karlsruhe)
  • Turmberg
  • Badisches Landesmuseum/Baden state museum
  • Naturkundemuseum/Natural History Museum
  • State Art Gallery Karlsruhe
  • State Theater Karlsruhe
  • forest rope park (at Turmberg)
  • Castle garden
  • public (outdoor) swimming pools and various thermal baths

Restaurants at Karlsruhe (Durlach):

https://www.turmbergwein.de - State winery (Posseltstraße - in our street, you can see the vineyards)

https://anders-turmberg.de - Anders Turmberg (access from our street to the mountain by foot or train)

https://dapinodurlach.eatbu.com/?lang=de (with delivery service)

https://www.alte-durlacher-brauerei.de - brewery Durlach

https://www.pablos-durlach.de - Tapas Durlach

https://mediterrane.eu/du/

http://indianrasoi-ka.de

https://www.traube-durlach.de - Wine bar


Activities during the year in Heidelberg:

  • Heidelberg:

https://passionforhospitality.net/top-places-to-visit-in-heidelberg-in-winter/ - 10 top places in Heidelberg in winter

https://www.theaterheidelberg.de/festival/winter-in-schwetzingen/ theatre in winter in baroc-Schwetzingen

https://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/ - Heidelberg in summer

https://www.theaterheidelberg.de/festival/heidelberger-schlossfestspiele/ - summer theatre on the castle

https://www.heidelberg.de/hd,Len/300652.html - famous old town

https://www.bergbahn-heidelberg.de - the famous original mountain train with Heidelberg-view

https://www.schloss-heidelberg.de/start

https://www.museum-heidelberg.de/1360820.html

https://www.heidelberg.de/hd,Lde/HD.html

https://www.heidel-bike.de

https://www.theaterheidelberg.de

https://koerperwelten.de/stadt/heidelberg/ - bodyworld Heidelberg

https://www.swhd.de/baeder?ConsentReferrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com

https://maerchen-paradies.de - a fary tales world for kids in the woods above Heidelberg


Restaurants in Heidelberg:

http://restaurant-oben.de - Gourmetrestaurant 1* - Heidelberg Kohlhof in the nature

https://www.gasthof-koenigstuhl.de/de/gasthof-koenigstuhl - Restaurant with view about Heidelberg

https://www.lsw.uni-heidelberg.de/

http://www.bierhelderhof.de/ - Restaurant

https://www.berghof-gaiberg.de/ - Restaurant

https://www.rossini-heidelberg.de/ - Italien Restaurant with Neckarview

https://pier4-heidelberg.de/ - boat-restaurant on the river - please look at the sunset from there

https://www.salerno-heidelberg.de/ - Italien Restaurant

https://www.river-cafe-hd.de/ - Café Neckarview

https://www.red-diegruenekueche.com/ - vegan restaurant in town

Markets in Heidelberg with fresh food:

https://www.hofladen-bauernladen.info/adressen/neuenheim-wochenmarkt-heidelberg__58696.php

https://www.heidelberg.de/hd/HD/Leben/Wochenmaerkte.html

http://www.gemuesebau-schlicksupp.de/

https://www.biomarkt.de/heidelberg-bahnhofstr-33/marktseite - denns biological market

From Heidelberg its fun and strategytly perfect to discover Southgermany by car or train:

  • Mannheim and its famous barock castle, theatre & art museums & nightlife (45 minutes by car)

https://www.kuma.art

https://www.rem-mannheim.de

https://www.nationaltheater-mannheim.de

https://www.planetarium-mannheim.de/

https://palazzo-mannheim.de/le-maitre/ - Harry Wohlfahrt Gourmetrestaurant in Mannheim

We are looking forward to you and new adventures! :-)

Best greetings, Kristin, Zoé and July

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 19 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher at European School, Lecturer at University & Yoga, Author

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 110 m2
  • Total Area: 130 m2

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Hospitality wanted
  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered
  • Youth / Teen exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Piano
  • Guitar

Outdoor

  • Balcony
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 3

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • France
  • Netherlands
  • United Kingdom
  • Ireland
  • Montauk, NY 11954, USA
  • Cambridge, MA, USA
  • Cambridge, UK
  • United States
  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Engadin, Switzerland
  • Austria
  • Corsica, France
  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Spain
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • Switzerland
  • Cyprus
  • Sardinia, Italy
  • North Sea
  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France
  • French Riviera, France
  • Brittany, France
  • Noirmoutier, France

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch

Occupation

  • Teacher at European School, Lecturer at University & Yoga, Author

Children

  • Girl - Age: 18
  • Girl - Age: 16

Pets

  • the loveliest golden retriever dog (in a pension)
  • outdoor cat Cathy
  • outdoor cat Arthur

References

This member has completed 19 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: