Galten, Denmark


Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


We have made an agreement summer 2023 in Ireland

We have a cosy single family home in a little town, near Aarhus, the second biggest town in Denmark. It is also near the sea, beaches and Legoland.

Our house is 135 square meters. We have one bedroom, two bathrooms, and an guest room for one person. We have an open kitchen and a living room with fireplace. We take great pride in our garden and have a nice terrace with roses and a garden bed.

We have a big trampoline that our kids love to jump on, while we are in the garden. We have a greenhouse with vegetables. Also a big table tennis set.

Our family:
We are two adults, Rie at 47 years and Henrik at 49 years. We are both social workers. Henry works with addicts and homeless and Rie is working at big private company with people at long term sick leave.

We have a daughter at 16 years and a boy at 15 years.

We attach great importance to treat other things properly and leave it in the same condition as we receive it.

The surroundings:
We love to swim and take either of “Knuds Sø” (15 min), which is a very clean lake with sandy and flat bottom ideal for children. We also take to the sea to Moesgaard beach, which is a nice beach with many seaside bridges at the sea.

We live in a town of about 5000 inhabitants. Skovby is a peaceful town, where many know each other. We have good contact with our neighbors and we help each other frequently when needed. Our house is situated in a quiet neighborhood. 200 meters away is a pleasant path along fields with a good view. We have one supermarkets in the city. There are medical center, hairdresser, appliance store, a church, a school, many playgrounds, and a few hundred yards from our house. There are approx. 3 to 5 miles to the nearest woods. 1½ miles from Skovby go freeway directly to Aarhus in just 15 minutes.

Aarhus is a very popular city with 250.000 inhabitants. It is particularly popular because it has all the attractions, that are the hallmarks of a big city with many cultural offerings such as art museums, natural history museum, Tivoli, and it's a shopping Mecca with many shops and a nice street and pedestrian areas. At the same time, it takes only few minutes to get to forest and beach, located around Aarhus. There is particular a deer forrest 5 min. from the center with deer and wild boar, where you can go between the deer.

In Aarhus is also Marselisborg Castle, where the Danish royal family each year spend their holiday in a part of the summer.
One of the major attractions in Denmark: the "Old Town" is also located in Aarhus. It's quite a city which is built up of the original houses from 1600 – 1900 figures. There are live shows with many activities that you can spend a whole day to discover.

Only an hour from Skovby is Lego land, which is a giant theme park built out of Lego. We also have several wildlife parks and zoos within an hour.
If you would like to see capital Copenhagen, it takes 3 hours by car and also it takes 3 hours by car, if you want to visit Hamburg, Germany.
Sea and beaches 30 min.
Playground (300m)
Bus stop (250 m)
Doctor (500 m)
Pizzaria (500 m)
Supermarket (500 m)
Aarhus City Center (15 km)
Silkeborg City Center (30 km)
Beach (15km)
Swimming lake (12 km)
Lego land (1 hours driving)
Skagen (2½ hours drive)
Tivoli (15 km).

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 9 Exchanges made


  • Henrik is socialworker with outreach work among homeless
  • Rie is socialworker and follow up on people with long terms sick leave

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 135 m2
  • Total Area: 750 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Ireland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dansk
  • Norsk


  • Henrik is socialworker with outreach work among homeless
  • Rie is socialworker and follow up on people with long terms sick leave


  • Boy - Age: 15
  • Girl - Age: 17


  • dog


This member has completed 9 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: