Back
GB091288

Colchester, Great Britain

One end of the sitting room

One end of the sitting room

Kitchen

Kitchen

Main bedroom

Main bedroom

Main bathroom

Main bathroom

One end of the sitting room Kitchen
Main bedroom Main bathroom
Silver

Member since

2010


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in Colchester, Great Britain

Our house is situated in a pleasant neighbourhood in Colchester, Essex. We are less than an hour from London by train, and less than half an hour in the car from beautiful countryside and coastal areas.

Colchester is a good size town with plenty of places to eat and entertainment on offer. You can also improve your English at the Colchester English Study Centre, which is just 15 minutes walk from our house. (www.cesc.co.uk)

We have three bedrooms, two with king size beds and one double. All beds are extremely comfortable! We also have a sofa bed in the sitting room which sleeps an additional two people if required.

We have all the appliances you might require for a comfortable stay - washing machine, tumble drier, fridge-freezer, central heating, wireless internet access.

There is a flatscreen TV, a Wii, and a wireless streaming music system. We also have an upright piano so you can keep up your practice!
We have plenty of books which you are warmly welcome to read, and board games that the family may want to play.

Directly opposite our house are some tennis courts where you can pay and play at very reasonable rates.

We have enjoyed three exchanges, which were a great pleasure and a great success. For 2015 we have made an arrangement for the summer but would be keen to arrange a long weekend in Amsterdam at Easter and in Yorkshire (UK) over the weekend of 11th/12th July.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Head of Procurement
  • Freelance publisher/editor

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • North Yorkshire, UK
  • South Yorkshire, UK
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Colchester is Britain's oldest recorded town, and there are many buildings and places of interest which reflect our Roman and medieval heritage.
Colchester Castle has the largest Norman keep in Britain and its museum is a very interesting visit. Other museums in the town include Hollytrees, Tymperleys Clock Museum and the Natural History museum.
Colchester also boasts the Mercury Theatre, a cinema and wide range of restaurants and cafes. Colchester Zoo is very close by and we also have Rollerworld - the largest roller skating rink in Europe!
A short drive away is beautiful Constable Country, where you can visit some pretty villages such a Dedham, and also Flatford Mill, immortalised by the painter John Constable.
The Essex and Suffolk coastlines are easily accessible by car and have some award-winning beaches and a real mix of resorts to visit.
London is less than an hour away by direct train link from Colchester. There you will find a world-famous array of museums, galleries, landmarks, restaurants, parks, palaces and places to visit.
To find out more about our region visit:
 
www.visitcolchester.com
www.essex-sunshine-coast.org.uk
www.essextouristguide.com
www.colchester.uk.com
www.visitlondon.com

Occupation

  • Head of Procurement
  • Freelance publisher/editor

Children

  • Girl - Age: 21

Pets

  • Cats x4

References

This member has completed 4 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: