Back
GB1001184

Llangollen, Great Britain

Front of the house. There is a large driveway for around 3-4 cars.

Front of the house. There is a large driveway for around 3-4 cars.

Front of the house. There is a large driveway for around 3-4 cars.
Bronze

Member since

2013


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

A traditional family house in a picturesque town in the hills of north-east Wales

Hello, we are a French and English couple both working in education with two children aged 6 and 8, In 2014 we would like to exchange possibly in the May school holidays (24th May to 1st June), and for 2-3 weeks in the summer holidays. (Between 20th July and 31st August).

Our house is a comfortable semi-detached 1930's property with many original features and a large garden just a few minutes walk from the centre of Llangollen, a small and beautiful town of 3,000 people, which is 45 minutes from Snowdonia National Park, with Wales' highest mountains. In the town centre there are two butchers, two bakeries, delicatessens, a greengrocers, and there is a local market on Tuesdays. Llangollen attracts a lot of visitors each year due to activities on the river Dee, that runs through it's centre, the canal, the surrounding hills and the working steam train station as well as the international Eisteddfod, a festival of dance and music that has taken place here since the 1940s. The town has a good selection of cosy pubs and restaurants. There is plenty to do and visit on the doorstep, including a hike up to Dinas Bran castle which is within walking distance of our house, and has stunning views across the valley, and the ruins of 13th century Vale Crucis Abbey. Chirk Castle is a short drive away. As well as being close to Snowdonia National Park, we are we are just an hour from Wales' unspoilt coastline. In the other direction, the historic city of Chester is 30 minutes drive, and we can reach Liverpool in one hour and Manchester in 1 hour 20 minutes. To read more about our town, visit: http://www.llangollen.com/valle.html.

Our house is cosy and warm. We have a good-sized living room with log-burner. As well as TV with plenty of freeview channels we have a Wii and plenty of games. We also have decent broadband and WIFI. Downstairs there is also a dining room, kitchen and a downstairs toilet. Upstairs there are 3 bedrooms - one with double bed and two with single beds, and a bathroom. We have two children aged 6 and 8 and herefore have plenty of games and toys if you have children. We are new to Intervac and this will be the first time we exchange. We are looking forward to it and can promise you that we will look after your house as if it is our own.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Information Officer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Outdoor

  • Garden

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • France
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Croatia
  • Sweden

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

  • golfing Llangollen Golf Course (3.4 km)

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Information Officer

Children

  • Boy - Age: 15
  • Girl - Age: 13

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are a family of four living in a beautiful part of north Wales. We are a French/English family - dad is French and our children are bilingual. In France, our family is from the 'Maine et Loire' region. We used to live in Portugal and still have many friends there. Therefore, we all love travelling and are looking forward to many exchanges in the future!

Lifestyle

We are an active family and enjoy walking and cycling, swimming and watersports when get the opportunity. We also like cooking a lot - food from all over the world, cinema and cultural activities together as a family.