Twickenham, Great Britain







garden with astro turf and patio

garden with astro turf and patio



master bedroom

master bedroom

master lounge kitchen garden with astro turf and patio playroom master bedroom

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Spacious modern family house, London suburbs near Hampton Court, Bushy Park, River Thames

We live in Strawberry Hill, a quiet London suburb nestled between the river Thames and Royal Parks. Hampton Court Palace, Bushy Park, River Thames, Richmond Park, Kew Gardens and Twickenham Stadium are all within a few miles.

The house is remarkably spacious by London standards: large kitchen diner, large lounge, playroom, 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, large driveway and astro turf garden. It's a family house with plenty of games, TVs, bikes, wi-fi, Sky TV, X-box.

Locally you can enjoy exploring the parks (spotting deer in Bushy Park and Richmond Park, or visiting the famous Kew Gardens), visit Hampton Court Palace, or walk/cycle/boat along the river Thames. Our local shops are nearby, and all the department stores are in Kingston, down the road. You have easy access to trains to London Waterloo from our local station, Strawberry Hill. We are close to the M3 and M25 for car journeys to explore further afield. Our car is a 7-seater Zafira - tatty but loved and you are welcome to use it. The 5 bikes are all adult sized but we may be able to borrow smaller ones if you need them.

The house has 4 bedrooms (one of them on the top floor). Three bedrooms have double beds and one has a single. There are also 2 sofa-beds and under-bed mattresses giving plenty of sleeping options. The master bedroom has an ensuite bathroom, the top floor bedroom has its own bathroom, there is a first floor family bathroom, plus a downstairs toilet. The spacious kitchen-diner was created by us and is a dream.

We are looking for options for summer 2019 somewhere warm in Europe (e.g. Spain, Portugal, France).

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • 'Dad' civil servant.
  • 'Mum' international development consultant

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: House is on 3 floors
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7
  • Total Area: 200 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • France
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Portugal

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Heathrow - 10 km

  • forest Bushy Park (2.0 km)
  • shopping Tescos Supermarket (1.5 km)
  • boating river boats (8.0 km)

We live in Strawberry Hill, a small community that is part of the town of Twickenham. Strawberry Hill is the home of Strawberry Hill House, a restored Gothic mansion (built by Henry Walpole), St Mary's University College, a train station and a row of shops. Nearby (15 minute walk) we have Twickenham town centre in one direction and Teddington town centre in the other. Both with standard supermarkets and a considerable range of shops from Poundland to designer shops. Kingston, a major shopping centre (Bentalls Centre, Apple store, all the clothing brands), is a few miles away (bus, bike or drive).

Bushy Park in Teddington is close by for walking or cycling, picnics games and deer. (Approx 5 minutes cycle ride away). The other side of Bushy Park is Hampton Court Palace. The River Thames (also about 5 mins cycle ride away) has a path along it in either direction, towards Richmond or Kingston. A small park with playground beside the Thames is also at the end of our road.

Trains to London go from Strawberry Hill or Teddington (10-15 minutes walk, 40 minute train journey), or faster trains go from Twickenham.

There is a public pool nearby in Teddington, a lovely outdoor pool in Bushy Park, and several tennis courts around.


  • 'Dad' civil servant.
  • 'Mum' international development consultant


  • Boy - Age: 23
  • Boy - Age: 21
  • Boy - Age: 17


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are a busy family, 3 lads that love football and screens, so we have plenty of games, DVD, x-box, TVs, footballs, tennis racquets and decent wifi. The boys are now young men (16, 19, and 21)! Professional parents who enjoy reading, relaxing, games and books. Our house is no longer toddler proof, but the house and garden are great for kids and teenagers.


From our house it's easy to access central London, or the parks, historical sites, and River Thames. But we also spend a lot of time just relaxing in the big lounge with a DVD, BBQ'ing in the garden, or cooking together in the kitchen. There are plenty of DVDs, plenty of kitchen gadgets. 4 adult bikes (one of them a women's bike) in the bike shed.

Although the house is not fully accessible for wheelchair users, we have grab rails for the elderly generation, plus sofa beds downstairs.
We prefer to swap with people who will also help out with instructions,use of equipment and friendly advice that make it all an easy holiday. Our ideal holiday is a hot place with a pool, probably wifi, and a lovely spot to relax.
We often have relatives or friends staying, so our bedrooms are designed for a couple and 3 kids, but the sofa beds downstairs and other tucked away mattresses cater to 2-3 more.


This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: