Reykjavik, Iceland


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

A nice house, in a family friendly neighborhood in Reykjavik, close to city-center.

Our house is an excellent choice for families, big and small, looking to explore Iceland and Reykjavik. The house is centrally located in a popular and family-friendly neighborhood in Reykjavik, close to the main bike-paths and about 5 km from the city centre. A very nice valley is within a walking distance, the nearest swimming pool is 2 km away and a good- value supermarket is 1 km away. We are a couple with three kids (10-4 years) and all the stuff that comes with a brood like that.

The location is excellent for people who like to enjoy Reykjavik by bike. The valley of Fossvogsdalur is a very popular venue for bicycling, running and walking and the proximity to the Elliðarárdalur-valley, a wooded, largely unspoilt valley with a salmon river in the middle, makes it a very appealing choice for anyone who likes the outdoors. From the house it takes about 10-15 minutes to bike to Laugardalur, the largest green area in the city proper, where you'll find, among other attractions, Reykjavik's biggest swimming-pool and the small but appealing Reykjavik Zoo and family park. (The animals in the Zoo are all domestic, i.e. sheep, horses, seals etc.)

Several golfcourses are within a 20-minutes driving distance, i.e. and

Our house (180 sq.m, row-house) is in the neighborhood of Fossvogur. It is at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac and there is little need to worry about traffic. The house has a small terrace and a lawn (most of it will be covered by the trampoline). Just outside the garden there is a small football field and a designated play-area. The house sits in a gentle slope and faces due south, sheltered from the northerly winds, and so the terrace tends to be very hot (by Icelandic standards). On the balcony there is a BBQ. The kitchen is fully equipped (incl. washing-machine.)

A small shopping-centre with a bakery, a very nice pizzeria, mini-market and more is about 4-500 meters away.

The house has a master bedroom (king size bed), three bedrooms for children (two with a 90x200 cm bed, one with a 70x140cm bed). In the hobby-room there is enough space for two full size mattresses. Television, dvd and a Wi-fi, are all in place.
We have two adult bikes, three kids bikes, a bike-trailer for one kid, up to 35 kg, and a kids bike seat.

We are looking for a car exchange. The car is a 2006 model VW Sharan which seats 7 people. The house has a private parking place.

We would consider an exchange for 2-4 weeks.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Corporate communications
  • Specialist at a bank

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Baby equipment


  • Garden
  • Balcony


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • London, UK
  • Berlin, Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • Sweden
  • Denmark

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

  • forest Ellidaardalur-valley (2.8 km)
  • shopping Bonus, supermarket (1.6 km)
  • boating Nautholsvik, geothermal-beach (6.7 km)
  • beach Nautholsvik, geothermal-beach (6.7 km)
  • sea Fossvogur, sea-swimming (6.7 km)
  • golfing Reykjavik golfclub, (8.1 km)


  • Corporate communications
  • Specialist at a bank


  • Girl - Age: 16
  • Boy - Age: 12
  • Boy - Age: 9


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: