Haarlem, Netherlands


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Flat in Haarlem, Netherlands

General information of our house and environment
We live on 5 km distance of the centre of the city Haarlem. In a green suburb Molenwijk, close recreation area (Molenpark). Good public transport, hypermarket and other supplies in the direct surroundings.
The apartment
A wide 5 chamber house: living room, dining room (open connection), open kitchen with modern equipment, 1 study, 1 small sleeping chamber with two single beds, 1 large parent sleeping chamber, shower, toilet, wardrobe, storage area, passage, inpending balcony (2 by 5 m) and beside us a large roof terrace for own occupants.
The apartment complex has a kicking house and a lift. Our apartment lies on 7the store, with a wide view, including the fifth runaway (Polderbaan) from Amsterdam Airport (Schiphol). You can see the planes take of or land, but you do not hear them! Up to around 12.00 hours the sun shines on the balcony. On the ground level lays the storeroom, where the 2 bicycles stand. For and behind the apartment there are sufficient park places parking is free.
Supplies in the direct environment
On ground level you find a hypermarket, a baker, a hairdresser, a card/newspaper/smoking/animal food shop. To the back of the building complex there is a simple pizzeria/shoarma, not expensive but nice, with take away service.
In the neighbourhood you find also: a pharmacy, snack bar, sport school, a dentist and a health centre. On 10 minutes walking distance there lays a large covered shopping centre. Each Tuesday is on the neighbour parking place a big market. The public covered swimming pool, lies opposite the hospital Kennemer Gasthuis, on 10 minutes by bike.
Environment and recreation
On 5 minus walking distance lies the recreation area ‘ Molenpark ’, with walk and bicycle paths along a small lake (Molenplas). There is a nice restaurant with terrace near the lake  ‘De Molenplas’, and jetty for boats, in the summer by very nice weather it can be crowdie over there. In the winter the restaurant is limited open from Thursday till Sunday.
By way of the ‘ Molenpark ’ it is possible tot walk or bike along the lake to a  mill ‘De Hommel’ en to go further over the canal the Ringvaart by a bicycle bridge to a lovely teahouse ‘De Cruquius’,  with terrace. The tea house is daily open as from 10.30 hours open up to 1800 hours. Beside the tea house lays the museum ’Cruquius’ (1 March up to 1 November opened)
Between 1 April and 1 October you can also cross the canal Ringvaart on a small ferry boat, special for cyclist. The ferry boat is controlled by voluntaries.
At the other side off the Ringvaart lies a golf area. Through the golf area lies a bicycle path that connects the green recreation areas: ’Groene Weelde’, the former Floriadepark and the ’Haarlemmermeerse Bos’.
The centre of Haarlem can you reach with public transport, but you can also walk or cycle along the river the ‘Spaarne ’, by way of the Zuid- and Noord Schalkwijkerweg. Distance to the centre is about 5 km. You can go by bus 73 to the center (four times in an hour, busstop Verwulft)The bus goes through the center of city to the N.S. station Haarlem. Our busstop is named Schuilenburg.  
Beside the large shopping centre of Schalkwijk  10 minutes walking) lies the busstop of the R Net, a quick service (6 till 8 times per hour) with limit number of halts tot the centre and the station of Haarlem and in the other direction to Hoofddorp, Amsterdam Airport, Amstelveen, Oudekerk a/d/Amstel and Amsterdam Bijlmer.
From the N.S. station Haarlem you can take trains to Zandvoort, Amsterdam, Leiden and other destinations.
City and surroundings.
On Monday (rag market) and Saturday there are product markets on the large market in the centre of the town, near the old church and the old city hall. The VVV office is at N.S. station.
Haarlem has much to offer: art, culture, culinary highlights: form simple snacks to fine restaurants. There are a lot of terraces around the large market (De Grote Markt) and the small market (De Botermarkt).
Haarlem is also wellknown as a shopping centre, with a lot of historical bouldings an old streets,(for example:  Groot- en Klein Heiligland, the Bakenessengracht.
Museums: Frans Hals (peintings) De Hallen (peintings and modern art)  Teylersmuseum (peintings and science)
Cinema: Brinkman and De Filmschuur
Concertbuilding de ‘ Philharmonie ’.
It is possible to make several roundtrips by boat: for example through the canals and the Spaarne. There are also several guided citywalks
A special small estate route has been composed by the VVV.
A large sauna (Egmond) you can find at the Egmondstraat.
On 10 km. distance lays Zandvoort, a seaside place. There are several splendid bicycle routes by dune and bunch area. For example to the dune area the Amsterdamse WaterIeiding Duinen
You can also walk well marked routes by way off the entrance ‘Panneland ’ near the village Vogelenzang, with a small pancake and snack restaurant (on Tuesday closed) or the entrance De Oase, also well recommended  with his pancake restaurant!  Bycicles are not allowed within the dune area of the Amsterdamse Waterleiding Duinen.
We have composed a map with information about Haarlem and his environment It lays available for you in our apartment. As well as several plans of Haarlem and the surroundings.
We wish you much pleasure if you are coming to stay in our beautiful city!
Nico and Maya

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 21 Exchanges made


  • educationalist &
  • soc.wrkr.

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: 7
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking
  • Lift/Elevator
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • The Netherlands
  • France
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Belgium
  • Portugal
  • Croatia
  • Slovenia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood


  • educationalist &
  • soc.wrkr.


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

Wij zijn Maya Plas (1945) en Nico van den Raad (1943) en wonen sinds 2003 heel plezierig in een ruim appartement met veel privacy in een groene buitenwijk van Haarlem. Op een later moment plaatsen we recente foto's van onszelf en de omgeving.


Wij lezen, tekenen, schilderen en schrijven en gaan graag naar de film, theater of concert en musea. Als we vrienden ontvangen, dan verdelen we de gangen, want koken vinden we beiden leuk om te doen.
Een hapje in de stad met een glas wijn daar zijn we voor in en Haarlem heeft genoeg te bieden aan terrassen en leuke tentjes. Elke dag wandelen of fietsen we een paar kilometer, er is een park en een meer direct in de buurt of we gaan naar het strand of het bos of de duinen in. Maya gaat regelmatig met vriendinnen op stap. Nico houdt zich dagelijks bezig met het schrijven van verhalen en gedichten en is ook lid van een digitale haiku/tanka groep en een prozaschrijfgroep. We zijn beiden verhalenvertellers, op verzoek treden we op gast vertellers of brengen een voorstelling met of zonder muzikanten. We hebben verhalen voor jong en oud en elke doelgroep. Daarnaast begeleidt Nico mensen via internet, die proza of poëzie of een boek schrijven en hun schrijfvaardigheden willen versterken. Zie ook Maya kijkt naar het leven vanuit een spirituele visie, via levenservaringen kun je groeien is haar opvatting.
Eenmaal per 14 dagen passen we enkel uren op de jongste kleinkinderen in Rotterdam, de oudere kleinkinderen wonen met hun ouders in het Noorden en Zuiden van Nederland en die zien we enkele keren per jaar. D.m.v. de smartphone leven we mee met hun activiteiten. We hebben een fijn leven, met elkaar en met wat de omgeving ons biedt.
We houden van afwisseling en daarom willen we in de wintermaanden even naar de zon en daarbuiten enkele weken of dagen in Nederland België of noord Frankrijk doorbrengen.


This member has completed 21 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: