Strängnäs, Sweden


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


A picturesque town by lake Mälaren 50 min from Stockholm, Sweden

We already have plans for the Summer of 2024. But are opened for suggestions on shorter swaps closer to Sweden in Fall or Winter.

A former Stockholm family consisting of Anna, Ted and our two teenagers Inez (18) and Elsa (16). The dream of high quality living brought us to this beautiful and cultural town Strängnäs, only about 50 minutes by train from Stockholm. Clean, safe, close to the nature, right by the Lake Mälaren, restaurants, shops, old city center, and a nice harbour. Here you enjoy great outdoor activities such as hiking, biking, fishing, sailing, canoeing and swimming. Both Strängnäs and the surrounding areas offer great cultural activities as well. Strängnäs is wellknown for its old cathedral (built 1250) and windmill (1855).

So if you are looking for a beautiful town where you don´t need a car but still have close access to Stockholm this is the perfect match. The center of Strängnäs is only 5 minutes biking distance away and the train station about 10 minutes. We offer bikes for you to use. The lake Mälaren is visible from our house and located about 300 meters from our house. In the Winter it is possible to go skating or skiing on the lake.

Our house was built in 1933 and is located in an old preserved residential area with big gardens along the waterfront. We have a big lush garden that contains big oak trees, raspberries and apples. The garden also offers garden furniture to enjoy meals outside. For the cold season there are 2 open fires, a tile stove and a sauna to warm you up.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made


  • Math teacher
  • Project Manager/coach

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 1500 m2
  • Total Area: 230 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • United Kingdom
  • Palma, Balearic Islands, Spain
  • Costa Brava, Girona, Spain
  • Provence, France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • Portugal

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Español
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Arlanda airport - 1 h 15 minutes

 Located in the county of Södermanland, distance with car to closeby cities:

Stockholm 50-60 minutes 
Eskilstuna 15 minutes
Enköping 25 minutes
Södertälje 25 minutes
Uppsala 1 hour


Translate this


  • Math teacher
  • Project Manager/coach


  • Girl - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 19


  • Dog

About Our Family

A family of 4, Ted and Anna with 2 teenagers Inez and Elsa. We love to meet new people and get to know new cultures. 12 years ago we moved from Stockholm to Strängnäs to obatin a higher quality in life. And we never regreted this move! We love our little community. To be close to everything and not to be depended on a car. During these years we have spent a total of 2 years living in the jungle in Costa Rica, one of the most rewarding experiences as a family.

Translate this


This member has completed 6 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: