Stjärnsund, Sweden


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
May 26, 2024 - May 25, 2025 2 weeks

open for all suggestions


Cosy house in idyllic Stjärnsund, Paradise for nature lovers ( Sweden )

We live in a cosy little row-house, which has a living room, 2 sleeping rooms, 1 bathroom and 1 kitchen in it. In the living-room we have an "ober-schlaf", where 1 person and a child can sleep. In the adult bedroom there is one of those beds that you can pull out and make into a double bed, and in my son´s bedroom there´s a bunk bed (for 2 persons).
In the kitchen, there is a dishwasher, refrigerator, a freezer, a micro-wave, and all sort of other things you might need. In the bathroom, there is a shower and a washing-mashine. Although we have neighbours just next to our house, we never hear them; so it´s very private here. When living in a home, personal items, clothes and papers can lie about the place, but before exchanging I always make sure none of these things are there, as I think you will feel more at home when you can spread out your own things:-)

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 1 Children
  • 28 Exchanges made


  • Studerande

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 85 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Hospitality wanted
  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 2


  • No smoking
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Car necessary
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • France
  • Poland
  • Belgium
  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Finland
  • Great Britain
  • Croatia
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Macedonia
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Republic of Serbia
  • Slovenia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Borlänge, Arlanda - 67km, 200 km

Stjärnsund is a small pittoresque village in the South of Dalarna. It´s situated along the lake Grycken, and because of it´s history, setting and charm many tourists find their way to here (especially in summer-time, when also the annual folk-festival takes place here (the first weekend of august)). But also when snow covers the landscape it is magic here. Normally the winter starts slowly end of november/beginning of december and ends in march/april, but usually it takes a while until the temperatures stay under 0 degrees. Having said that, it means that Christmas can be white here but if you want to be sure to have snow and ice on the lake( where one can walk to the different islands), then january and february are the most beautiful wintermonths.
Here, there is a church, a shop with very good opening hours (for such a small village), a centre for relaxation and mindfulness. Courses of all kind are given there. From here you can take the bus to Hedemora, which is about 25 km from here, where you will find shops of all kind. Other towns around Stjärnsund are Långshyttan (about 15km from here), Horndal (also about 15 km), and Avesta (about 45 km).There are also some cities at about 60-70 km from our home, which can be reached by bus, or train. The train from Hedemora to the international airport Arlanda takes about 1,5 hours.
Our village is surrounded by fields and forests, and lies along a beautiful huge lake, called Grycken. There everybody is welcome to either fish, swim or paddle, and in wintertime, you can skate and ski on it depending on the weather. At about 15 km there is a skipiste where you can ski downhill, which is very cheap. We also have a footballground and a minigolf-course here. Canoe´s can be rented cheaply near the lake.
So, that´s us, welcome to Stjärnsund!!

Translate this


  • Studerande


  • Boy - Age: 11


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 28 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: