Oakland, USA

Apartment bathroom

Apartment bathroom

Apartment appliances

Apartment appliances

Lower apartment

Lower apartment

Apartment bedroom with queen bed

Apartment bedroom with queen bed

Apartment bathroom Apartment appliances Lower apartment Apartment bedroom with queen bed

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in Oakland, USA

We are a retired couple looking for an exchange in a major metropolitan area, in a house or apartment.  We prefer to travel during the non-touristy, mild weather seasons - late spring to early summer (April-June) or late summer through autumn (end of August-October) when the weather is not hot.  We like easy access to shops, restaurants, and public transportation.  Our house is in the San Francisco Bay Area, in a very desirable area quite close to Berkeley and the University of California.  We have a moderate climate, so the weather is mild and rarely hot.  There is good access to public transportation into San Francisco (bus, metro, ferry). 
W are interested in a non-simultaneous exchange with our lower level apartment in our house, about 70 square meters, with 1 bedroom with a queen bed, bathroom with shower and tub, a salon/eating area, a separate entrance, kitchen area (not full kitchen - refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, electric kettle, toaster oven) and access to the laudry room with sink, washer and dryer.  The back garden with table and chairs is also available.

California's famous wine regions of Napa Valley and Sonoma and Muir Woods (beautiful & ancient tall redwood trees) are all 1+ hour drive from our house. With our easy access to major freeways, you'll want to plan short get-aways to Yosemite (3+ hours), Lake Tahoe (3+ hours), or Monterey and Carmel (2 hours). A bit further south brings you to Hearst Castle and Big Sur.  Los Angeles is about 8 hours by car, and San Diego is just south of Los Angeles.

Se habla espanol. On parle francais. Si parle italiano un po'.


Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made


  • Retired
  • Retired

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • Garage


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Italiano
  • Français
  • Español

Our Neighbourhood

We are only a couple of streets away from a beautiful panoramic view of the San Francisco Bay Area. One picture shows downtown Oakland and then looks across to San Francisco.Up on skyline ridge about 10 minutes above us is a great walking trail, which is very popular.Montclair Village is just down the street, about 3 minutes walking. There are a number of restaurants, 2 grocery stores, 2 pharmacies, book stores, banks, clothing shops and more.  There is a year-round farmer's market in Montclair Village every Sunday morning.


  • Retired
  • Retired


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • We do not have pets.