Back
CA1014797

Calgary, Canada

Your adventure in the Rocky Mountains begins a short 45 minute drive from our home.

Your adventure in the Rocky Mountains begins a short 45 minute drive from our home.

Alan hiking in the mountains. Summer.

Alan hiking in the mountains. Summer.

Kayaking on a BC glacier fed lake.

Kayaking on a BC glacier fed lake.

Theresa golfing at a mountain course

Theresa golfing at a mountain course

Gold

Member since

2017


Unavailable for exchange at the moment
Exchange dates Duration
May 21, 2024 - May 21, 2026 3 weeks

Length of stay is variable. Choose 1,2, or 3 weeks depending on your travel plans.

Share

Urban house, close to Banff National Park, Lake Louise, the Rocky Mountains, Jasper National Pk. Hike or bike in the city or the mountains. Go rafting, fishing, or rock climbing in the mountains. Museums or fine dining. Enjoy luxury each evening at home

Our home:

Our 4 bedroom non-smoking house with 3 full bathrooms is in a tranquil neighbourhood just 5 minutes from downtown Calgary. Easy access to the Rocky Mountains, and numerous national parks in Banff, Yoho, Jasper, and Waterton. Go explore Kananaskis country, Lake Louise, and many iconic Canadian destinations. Calgary has over 1,000 kilometres of urban bike and walking trails, and our house is located 10 meters from a trail that you can use to ride or walk to Stampede park, the Calgary zoo, Telus spark science museum to name a few. There is so much to do.

We moved into our home in August of 2012, and have been methodically renewing our home. We finished replacing our kitchen in April of 2018. Our home has refinished hardwood floors in the kitchen, living room, and dining room. We have new windows and doors, completely new lower level, and many other upgrades. The entire house has new paint. We take great pride and care of our home. We will take great care of your home, and expect the same from those whom we exchange with.

Master bedroom is spacious and has a king bed with attached full bathroom with shower. This bedroom and bathroom are both renovated in January of 2021, and now features a large shower.
Two other main floor bedrooms are both approx. 10 sq m (110 sq ft) plus closets. One of the bedrooms has a queen bed. Other room currently vacant.
Main floor bathroom has all fixtures and is bath tub only.

Lower level bedroom is approx. 12 sq m (130 sq ft) with a queen bed. The lower level has a family living room with a full bathroom (shower only). The lower level is about 80 sq meters and very capable as a private suite.
House has three "smart" LED TV's wth internet capability on each TV. TV's are located in master bedroom, upstairs family room, and lower level family room. Internet service is high-speed at over 100 MBS. Wi-Fi in house with range extender in lower level. Stereo equipment in lower level.

We have added a lot of automation to the home. Guests will be able to lock/unlock front door via cell phone app. Garage door can be opened remotely (double wide attached garage). House temperature can be adjusted remotely. Security system, temperature sensors, and remote lighting. In ground sprinkler system waters the lawn and flowers. Front door camera alerts you to visitors. We set this up to enable us to travel while ensuring home operated as if someone was living there. Plus 6 camera security system.
House is double dry walled with triple pane windows which ensure indoor is quiet. Kitchen has 6 roof skylights and a back wall of windows, which makes it very bright and airy.
Home has indoor humidity control, and 99% filter for removing allergens from inside home. Home has two smoke detectors and one Carbon Dioxide detector to ensure safety.
Back yard (garden) is completely fenced with about 77 sq m (835 sq ft) of deck (terrace) and over 100 sq m of grass plus the flower gardens. Yard has lots of space for kids to play on the grass. Gas barbecue located on deck. Deck in rear yard is very large, with new in 2024 L shaped outdoor seating with coffee table. Rear yard deck also has 4 chairs with one dining table. 1 outdoor fireplace. Front yard has small table with 2 chairs.

Our home is about 10 minutes away from major north/south highway 2 (Deerfoot trail), and 10 minutes north of Glenmore trail (major east/west road - highway 8). Allows easy access, yet the neighborhood is far removed from big city noise. Very quiet!

We normally pick up Intervac exchangers on non simultaneous exchanges from the Calgary International airport to assist you. This would help you to adjust to your new surroundings, and answer any questions you may have. If this is something that you value, then please ask for it. If our schedule permits, we are happy to pick you up at the airport and help you adjust and advise you on places to visit while you are here.

Our city ( the region):
Calgary is the sunniest of Canada's largest cities at 2,396 hours (avg of 333 days per year)
Climate is "prairie - steppe", which comes from being in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains.

It is a dry climate. June, July, August, and September are the warmest months with avg daytime highs normally between 22 and 27 C. We normally experience about a week of plus 30C weather. Nights in the summer are normally in the 12 to 15c range, making it pleasent for sleeping. The house has central air conditioning which you can adjust to your comfort.

The coldest month is January at avg of -7C. Winters have a unique weather phenomenon known as Chinooks, which can dramatically raise temperatures.

Calgary has approx 1.4 Million residents. We are approx 1,084 m (3,550 feet) above sea level.

Calgary distances to major area attractions as follows:
Banff, 135km. 1.5 hours travel
Canmore, 90km. 1 hour travel
Upper Lake Kananskis, 140km. 1.5 hours travel
Drumheller, 139km (Royal Tyrell Dinasaur museum). 1.5 hours travel
Buffalo head smashed in, 178km. 2 hours travel
Lake Louise, 189km. 2 hours travel
Waterton Lakes Ntl pk, 266km. 2.75 hours travel.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Alan - business (retired)
  • Theresa - Teacher (retired)

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 227 m2
  • Total Area: 2460 sq ft

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Hospitality offered

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 2

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Europe
  • United Kingdom
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Thailand
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Switzerland
  • Austria
  • Czechia
  • Croatia
  • Slovenia
  • Hungary
  • Serbia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Albania
  • Macedonia (FYROM)
  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Hawaii, USA

Spoken Languages

  • English

Occupation

  • Alan - business (retired)
  • Theresa - Teacher (retired)

Children

  • No children will be traveling with us.

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 6 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: