Turnhout, Belgium



night swimming ?

night swimming ?

Turnhouts vennengebied

Turnhouts vennengebied

vegetable garden

vegetable garden


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates


House in Turnhout,

Turnhout is situated in the North of Belgium, close to the border of the Netherlands. Turnhout is the capital of the Kempen region and counts 43000 inhabitants. It is called the "The playing card city" (Speelkaartenstad in Dutch) in Belgium, because of its history of making playing cards. It is possible to have a visit in the old cardsfactory which is nowadays transformed to a museum. The city also counts several other musea, such as the Taxandriamuseum (history of the region), and the old beguinage throws you back to the medieval age. During the summer, there is a fair on the market (in August) and there is the event "Turnhout zomert" where several musicians and dancers will come and perform ( The city has a shopping district and a lot of cosy bars and restaurants, making Turnhout worthwhile for a visit.
Despite being a city, Turnhout is surrounded by woodlands and fens. Our house lies in this green area, outside the city center, with woodlands and fens of the "Turnhouts Vennengebied" just outside our door. This area is therefore ideal for hiking or cycling with a picknick on the way.
Belgium is a tiny country, where distance is not big of a problem. The Belgian coast lies in the Northwest and is just a 2 hours cardrive away, and the plateau of the Ardennes in the South. Cities of art, such as Antwerp (40km away) and Brussels (100km away), Ghent and Bruges offer lots of sightseeing in the historical and cultural centres.

Our house offers sleeping places for 6 persons (3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and 1 shower). There are 4 bikes at your disposal, a pingpong table, a heated swimmingpool, a summerbar with a litlle fridge, BBQ,... Our familie counts 4 people, with 2 sons s. We also have 2 cats and 3 chickens. We all love being outdoors and spend a lot of time in the garden. Especially our 2 sons like to occupy their time to do some sports.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • teacher
  • Field service engineer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 260 m2
  • Total Area: 1200 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Private swimming pool
  • Bicycles: 4


  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Iceland
  • Canada
  • Norway

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch


  • teacher
  • Field service engineer


  • Boy - Age: 29
  • Boy - Age: 26


  • cats
  • chickens