Back
BE1005532

Kortenaken, Belgium

Gold

Member since

2014


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Modern refurbished farmhouse with pool, very large garden and wood. Guaranteed holiday feeling!

We live in a modern refurbished farmhouse among the sweeping fields with fruit trees, in a very calm surrounding. You follow the large driveway up to our house and enter in a holiday atmosphere and leave all stress and bustle behind. A dip in the pool, a barbecue over the fire pit, biking among the fruit trees, tending to our neighbour's horse or sheep, ...

There will be 2 cats, 2 gerbils, 3 chickens waiting for you. We also have two dogs but they tend to either travel with us or stay at a dog holiday place.

A large house, 4 bedrooms, over 2 floors (steps!, no elevator!) sleeps comfortable up to 8-10 persons. 30min from leuven or Hasselt, 1h from Brussels, Antwerp, Maastricht,... 2h from the seaside, the woods in the ardennes, Bruges, Dinant( A.Sax), Rotterdam, ... 3h from Amsterdam, London, Paris, Köln, ... .

We also have a large terrain of 12ha in the forest on the border with France, surrounded by 2 rivers, with a big lake, a yurt, a sauna. A real back-to-nature experience as there is no electricity, GSM coverage or running water. But in the middle of the forests, lake, fire, woods, ... This is also available for rent in non-simultaneous exchanges. But when we exchange with you, you have full access to the yurt for your period of stay as well.

I am traveling with 2 of my children (17,21).

Ps we usually travel by car so we do not exchange cars.

Let us know if this can interest you !
Kind regards, katrien

Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 9 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • trauma therapy

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Living Area: 64 m2

References

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Renting possible

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Other musical instruments

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Garage
  • Private swimming pool
  • Bicycles: 3

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • United Kingdom
  • Denmark
  • Europe
  • United States
  • Canada
  • Africa
  • South America

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Zaventem - 50km

  • shopping shopping city (0.0 km)
  • forest woods very nearby (1.1 km)
  • sea Seaside 120km (direct train) (128.4 km)
  • beach Seaside 120km (direct train) (137.3 km)

Very nice nature, fruit trees with possibility for walks, biking

Occupation

  • trauma therapy

Children

  • Boy - Age: 22
  • Boy - Age: 21
  • Girl - Age: 17

Pets

  • 1 cobberdog
  • 2 cats
  • 3 chickens
  • 1 Labrador dog
  • 2 gerbils

About Our Family

Hi ! I am a single mum with 3 lovely kids and 2 dogs. We have a lot of travel experience, both home exchanging (yearly since 18years, so 18+ exchanges as we like to exchange during shorter holidays as well), as back to basics backpacking. You'll find travel artefacts all over the house. From very nearby experiences to very far way, very cold and very warm. Our bestestest experience however that as a family we prefer above all others was Finland. Though we liked Hawaii also very much, and Cuba, and Columbia, and just the nearby ardennes, our the coast North of France, Scotland, .... You see, we love to travel and lend out our place to give other travellers the same experience. Welcome ! Katrien, Lars, George and Noor

Ps we have a lot of animals: a Labrador dog, a cobberdog, 2 cats,, chickens, gerbils. So if you are allergic, we are not the good family to exchange with ! But if you love animals, we are the good family to exchange with ;-)

Lifestyle

I am a psychotherapist, working with people individually and in small groups. You will see my cosy practice room in the house. The house and surroundings are very well suited for therapy as you'll see, it is very quiet and calm and peaceful, allowing people to connect with themselves and feel safe.
I love animals and have 2 dogs and 1 cats, some chickens so there are free range eggs. My children are growing up and gently leaving the house. I live alone and am quite adventurous, love travelling and also love my weekends in my yurt in the forest with my lake. At home there is the swimming pool.
I used to work as a sustainability consultant, so you'll see that the house is quite sustainable with energy from solar panels, hot water using the air, pellet stoves to heat the house. A greenhouse to grow some vegetables and herbs.
Always curious how other people live as well.
Welcome !

References

This member has completed 9 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: