Järvenpää, Finland

The house

The house



The house Cats

Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
June 10, 2020 - August 03, 2020 2 weeks

The length of the exchange can be negotiated.

Wooden two-storey house in Järvenpää, Finland. By the river, fascinating place to stay, easy roads to get everywhere.

In the summer 2017 we visited in Macerata, Italia and Strängnäs, Sweden. Excellent arrangements and beautiful regions.

The summer 2018 is already reserved but next summer 2019 is open for exchanges. We hope to visit 2-3 weeks somewhere in Europe. For us it is possible to travel also in the week 8 during the winter time (then we´ll have snow here in Finland, hope so).

The Home 
We live in a comfortable two-storey house. We have bought it in the year 2013. On our yard there are also a garage for two cars, a little cottage with a double bed, a grill house, a little greenhouse, big garden and the Kerava river flowing below it. In the ground floor of the house there is a living room with fireplace, library, kitchen, dining room, little summer room, sauna with shower and a separate toilet. On the second floor we have two bigger bedrooms with a double bed and a little bedroom with a double bed. All together up to 8 people can sleep comfortable in our house. In the cottage there is a bed for two people.
In the summer you can eat outside in the garden or at the porch any time of the day. Our street is very calm and neighbours are friendly. The house is 3 km from the train station with trains once per hour to the capital.
Like every modern home we offer TV (3), DVD-Players (3), Stereo/HiFi, computer, high speed internet, and the kitchen contains amongst other things: ceramic stove with oven, microwave, dishwasher, etc. Naturally, there is an internal laundry with washing machine, dryer, ironing board etc.
The Neighbourhood
Our house is situated to the best part of Finland for travelling anywhere you want. By car you can get to Järvenpää city in ten minutes. Within five minutes one can get to our local supermarket. The bigger shopping centres are in the city.

To our capital Helsinki and its fascinating seaside you get in half an hour by train. By car it takes a little bit longer, about 40 minutes. All this area offers extensive nature, culture and all kind of entertainment, yet also the possibility to easily get to other fantastic places in other parts of Finland and northern Europe. Most of them can be reached within a few hours by car, plane, train or ferry. Here are a few examples: Helsinki 44 km, Porvoo 41 km, Hämeenlinna 81 km, Turku 204  km (and there the fascinating archipelago),  Lahti and its lakes 67 km, Stockholm one hour by plane (most popular is to take a cruise to Sweden), Tallinn, from Helsinki 2-4 hours by boat, St. Petersburg 376 km (5 hours by car, 6 hours by train) and if you would like to meet Santa Claus it takes 10 hours by car or 1h 20min by plane  (789 km). Winter in Finland is also an experience: snow, skating, skiing, other winter activities.

Finland’s International Airport (Helsinki Airport) is only 26 minutes from the house, offering a large number of flights daily. You can easily make short trips to all great cities around northern Europe.

We have 4-5 bikes, a motor scooter, several roller-skates, a kick sled and ice-skates and also three kayaks (one duo and two singles) and canoe (3 persons) to take short or longer trips by the river, starting from our garden.
Other Information
We have two cats that enjoy being both in- and outdoors. Therefore we are unfortunately unable to invite dogs to our house. It is also possible that our cats move to our friends while you are staying here.
We would much appreciate a car exchange and can offer you Toyota Auris hybrid, automatic.

Our daughters  Essi (29) and Assi (25) are living in Helsinki and may travel with us in the summer, or they can also be of assistance with the house hand-over or give guidance for travelling in Finland. Also, private pick-up from the airport can be arranged.
The people
 We are in our 50 – and 60’s (non-smokers). Miia works as a teacher for children with special needs and Tarmo is a psychologist and last development chief, now gladly retired, planning to consult as a management expert, perhaps. We love travelling and we are happy to get in touch with people. Our daughter Essi has been as an exchange student in Ecuador, Cadiz (Spain) and Sao Paulo. Assi has been as an exchange student and trainee in Brazil, studying this autumn in Canada. During last few years we have had exchange students, from Mexico, Hongkong and Italy living with us a year or half. Nowadays, when our own girls are both already adults, we have been planning to travel also with our friends, who are about the same age as we are.

Searching for
Next summer 2018 we are seeking exchange partner primarily from Europe. We can offer our house for two or three weeks in June/July.

Languages spoken
Finnish, English, Swedish (a little bit German and Spanish. Daughters: Spanish, French, Portuguese and also some other European languages)

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 9 Exchanges made


  • Teacher for children with special needs
  • Former development manager, psychologist, now retired

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 1


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Use of boat
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Estonia
  • Spain
  • France
  • Greece
  • Croatia
  • Portugal
  • Italy
  • Austria
  • Germany

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Suomeksi
  • Svenska


  • Teacher for children with special needs
  • Former development manager, psychologist, now retired


  • No children will be traveling with us.


  • Cats (2)