Kvaløysletta, Norway

Otervika - beach at Kvaløya, 50 minutes drive from the house

Otervika - beach at Kvaløya, 50 minutes drive from the house


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 08, 2024 - August 11, 2024 1

We have an exchange agreement for July/August and are not open to exchanges during this period

July 14, 2024 - August 05, 2024 2 weeks

1 story house in Kvaløysletta, Norway


We´re a family of six people; two adults (Maria and Eigil) with four daughters age 6 (Kristine Marcelie), 12 (Mathilde), 15 (Sigrid Bertine) and 9 (Pernille). We live in Tromsø, the biggest city in northern Norway. We have made 5 exchanges with Intervac so far, and we´re very fascinated by this way of travelling and living. We enjoy seeing new places and meeting new people, and both Maria and Eigil have been living abroad for some periods.
Our house is situated 9 km from the city centre, on the island of Kvaløya. You´ll find great possibilities for hiking in the mountain a few hundred meters from the house. If you like walking by the shore, that´s close too. In other words, nature´s is very close and here are many possibilities for both summer and winter activities, depending on what you like. Special for our summers is the Midnight Sun, which can be seen from the end of May until late July. In winter, you can experience the Northern lights (Aurora Borealis). In Tromsø, you´ll find several interesting museums, cathedrals, theatre, cinema, nice restaurants (amongst these some excellent seafood restaurants) and cafes, a modern library and shopping possibilities.
Public transport is good. By bus you´ll need 15 minutes to the nearest shopping centre and 25 minutes to go to the city centre. Beside this, our car is available, f. ex. if you want to explore the more rural parts of the Tromsø region, and maybe see some small nice beaches surrounded by majestic mountains.

If you would like more information about our city Tromsø, you can check the links below: (Destination management company) (famous cathedral) (adventure company) (restaurant) (the Science Centre of Northern Norway) (about the Northern light) (Midnight Sun Marathon) (Norway’s indigenous people) (renowned annual Sami music and culture festival) (Tromsø Open Air Festival)

So, who are we? Maria and Eigil both work in privat sector. We like week end mornings with good coffee and a newspaper (and maybe a small piece of chocolate), and we adore playing, singing, dancing and laughing with the girls. We all like doing activities together, amongst them skiing and sledging (winter), football, cycling, hiking, playing by the shoreline - looking for stones and shells, going to the library etc.
All of us are looking forward to visiting new places. So, maybe this summer we will see your place? :)
Best wishes,
Maria, Eigil, Sigrid Bertine, Mathilde, Pernille and Kristine

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 4 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • HR/Business Partner
  • Labour market services

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 10


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Bicycles: 8


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Andorra
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Macedonia
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Slovenia
  • United States

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Norsk

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Tromsø Lufthavn Langnes - 3,2 km.


  • HR/Business Partner
  • Labour market services


  • Girl - Age: 13
  • Girl - Age: 16
  • Girl - Age: 10
  • Girl - Age: 7


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 4 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: